I think I messed my phone up.

Last Updated:

1. Saltwater Hero

Saltwater Hero Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Well all was well until I started deleting stuff. I rooted my phone everything was working great. I deleted a few things but nothing that I wasnt sure what it was. now I cant download from the market place and alot of my programs wont work I'm getting sms errors like crazy. Everytime I boot up my phone I get the error "The Process com.google.process.gapps has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again" Then I just hit Force Close. The phone still works I can still make calls. Keep in mind im a total noob to this stuff and I did not make a backup. I did a hard reset also and these erros are still coming up and I still cannot download from the marketplace it just sits on "Starting Download...."

Advertisement
  2. awrnsmn

awrnsmn Well-Known Member

no backup.....uh oh. I'll have to pass on this one for someone else with more knowledge......good luck and hope it works out......

3. Saltwater Hero

It would be great if someone could make like a universal backup image :)

4. TerrBear

TerrBear Well-Known Member

I would play dumb and take it back to the store for a replacement as soon as possible.

5. pking

pking Well-Known Member

I had the same issue when I inadvertently deleted ' ImProvider.apk ', thinking that it was part of the crappy stock IM application.

It's most certainly not.

Adding it back in fixed the market issue after a reboot.

I'll iterate it again just for everyone else's sake, as I'm sure you've certainly learned your lesson, but

ALWAYS make backups

:)

Unfortunately it's against the TOS (and probably not at all legal anyway due to licensing constraints) to put the stock apk files up on this forum - they are HTC proprietary binaries. Maybe someone will be willing to send you a PM with some non-patent/license infringing 'help' while I go make a sandwich :rolleyes:

6. Saltwater Hero