• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root I thought i successfully rooted my phone, so I messed with some things on TWRP and stuff happened

Xeireal

Sep 20, 2015
Hello, Yesterday I unlocked bootloader on my HTC One M8, from that I installed TWRP recovery and installed supersu from twrp. I'm new to rooting and modding so I learnt from YouTube. From TWRP, I tapped 'fix permissions' after that, i cannot access settings and it said 'unfortunately setup wizard has stopped'. i googled and found this forum. i created an account.
before i exit twrp, it said something like 'your phone isnt rooted, root now?' i tapped yes

the reason i tapped fix permissions is because, i went to root checker and it says your phone is not rooted. please help!!
i will provide you info of my phone if you need them.
i just need it to work

Hello, Yesterday I unlocked bootloader on my HTC One M8, from that I installed TWRP recovery and installed supersu from twrp. I'm new to rooting and modding so I learnt from YouTube. From TWRP, I tapped 'fix permissions' after that, i cannot access settings and it said 'unfortunately setup wizard has stopped'. i googled and found this forum. i created an account.
before i exit twrp, it said something like 'your phone isnt rooted, root now?' i tapped yes

the reason i tapped fix permissions is because, i went to root checker and it says your phone is not rooted. please help!!
i will provide you info of my phone if you need them.
i just need it to work
Well you could if you have a backup choose the wipe option then swipe to factory reset. Then it'll ask to reboot.

Choose main menu or press the back button until you're at the main Twrp menu. Choose the advanced option then adb sideload. Then sideload a SuperSU zip. en tyou should have root and the setup wizard should function as usual.

Reactions: Xeireal
Upvote 0