I thought I was rooted?


Last Updated:

  1. ishx360

    ishx360 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I decided to root my phone today. Installed drivers then ran unrevoked and it worked through till it said done and at that point i had the green letters and black screen and i made a restore. I tried to download and install titanium backup and it said error root access failed. I thought I rooted my dinc but apparently I didn't? If i run the unrevoked will it mess up my phone in any way?

    EDIT** I just went through the menu and there is a superuser icon in there
     

    Advertisement
  2. TheWhiteBandito

    TheWhiteBandito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    48
    Titanium Backup needs to download busybox. On the screen press "Problems?" and let it run that installation. See if that works.

    Try another app like Incredilight (free), if it works, then you have root.

    Since what you described above was clockworkmod recovery then you should have root.
     
  3. msjulie

    msjulie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    9

    The other thing that tripped me up is making sure your device has usb debugging enabled when superuser permissions are requested; don't know why it's needed but not doing that foiled me on my Eris...
     
  4. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    119
    This. You need to let Titanium Backup install BusyBox or it won't work.
     
  5. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,530
    You are rooted. Follow the advice in post #2.
     
  6. ishx360

    ishx360 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks for the advice. I tried the incredible led app and it worked so I guess i am rooted. As for busy box, I tried installing that and it said my nand is locked so i will look into that. I should have paid more attention when reading the tutorial lol. I was in a rush to go somewhere so i rooted in like 10 mins skimming through stuff. (yes not a goo idea)
     

Share This Page

Loading...