I tried everything and my battery doesn't last


Last Updated:

  1. Papoise

    Papoise Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everything is turned off that is suppose to drain the battery. I only have one widget the htc one that orginally came with the phone it has a huge clock and a weather update if u don't know what widget this is. But that's it I know the Internet, ustream etc drain battery life but when I'm not doing these things the battery feels short my screen timeout is for 1 minute. I just feel my battery life Drains to fast and I don't know why.
     

    Advertisement
  2. MadBrown

    MadBrown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    9
    Download Advanced Task Killer and close some apps running in the background.
     
  3. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Did you read through this:
    http://androidforums.com/sprint-htc...hero-battery-life-thread-tips-discussion.html

    There are a lot of good suggestions in there. Also, have you installed new Apps? If so, there could be a bad app that is keeping your phone awake. You can download Spare Parts and use it to see what is keeping the phone awake.

    As for the suggestion above to use Advanced Task killer to kill background apps, I suggest you read this thread:

    http://androidforums.com/sprint-htc-hero/26997-task-managers-your-hero.html

    Android has built in task killers. You usually don't have to kill the background apps that are running.
     
  4. lunatech

    lunatech Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    How much time are you roaming? If the signal booster is working at work I'll have about 70% battery left after 14hr, if it's not working I'm roaming and have about 12% left in the same amount of time. Roaming kills the battery.
     
  5. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    47

    Don't do it.
     
  6. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    +1

    Also, that Weather Widget consumes mad battery... Turn of the auto-updating in it will save 5%+ battery life alone.

    You say you have tried everything, tell us what you have done? I have adjusted "some" of the settings without killing the Sense UI Experience and get decent life . What app's do you use as well?

    More information and maybe we can help. ;)

    :cool:
     
  7. Papoise

    Papoise Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was looking at my phone the screen timeout means the phone turns black like the iPhone right. The screen is still bright an want sleep or shut off unless I press the red button. I have lookout downloaded on my phone a phone backup tool this is the only thing I can think of that is causing this.
     
  8. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    How often are do you have it set to check email? Are you making sure to use the back button to exit apps instead of pressing the red end button? How often do you have it checking weather, facebook, etc?

    If you can provide us with what all you have changed, as you said you had made changes, it will be more helpful then us throwing out things to try that you may have already attempted.
     
  9. Papoise

    Papoise Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    The phone does sleep it's down to 20% percent. But the screen is still bright when it is suppose to dim to black in a minute that's what my screen timeout is set to. It doesn't check anything often but sometimes I don't press the back button. I think the real problem might be that the screen won't dim to black unless I press the red button is this normal.
     
  10. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    I have my screen timeout set to 30 seconds. Do you have auto brightness enabled or do you have it manually set?

    Again, please provide more of what you have changed as has been asked several times by several people.

    Help us to help you :)
     
  11. Papoise

    Papoise Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Auto brightness is disabled. Okay your screen timeout is set to 30seconds when this happens does your screen dim to black. Mine is set to 1 minute I looked at my phone for 2 minutes screen was still not dim.
     
  12. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    I have auto backlight enabled and screen timeout to 30 seconds. After 30 seconds, my screen dims and then goes to sleep just fine.

    I assume you are running Stock and are not rooted? Not sure what to tell you if your screen won't dim/sleep. You can try to set yours like mine and see if it works, then set it back.
     
  13. Papoise

    Papoise Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine seems to sleep but the screen is not turning off. I'm not sure if you used an iPod or iPhone but the screen when it sleeps dims to black with no light shown on the screen.
     
  14. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    I wonder if it's a problem with the phone itself? When that timeout limit hits, the screen should shut off the same as if you hit the red button.
     
  15. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Lol. I don't think you are fully understanding what I am telling/asking you.

    First off, I own both the HTC Hero and an iPhone, so I know what you are talking about. However, if you would notice, right above I state that mine dims, and then sleeps. So yes, mine dims and then goes black, as it should.

    Second, you still have yet to answer what all you have changed to help improve battery life. Have you read all that has been posted back to you yet?
     
  16. Papoise

    Papoise Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol thanks tatonka glad u understood what I was typing.
     
  17. skoo9382

    skoo9382 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    don't know if this would be any help, but at times of when i know i won't be using my mobile network, i would turn it off, for instance, when i'm sleeping or when i am at work and i know i won't be able to get online with my phone. This will definitely increase your battery time, but at the same time, it is kind of a hassle to keep turning it off and on.
     
  18. i VTAK

    i VTAK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    73
    ^^^^The biggest battery saver I've found. The HTC widget to toggle it off doesn't work for me, but I got one from the market that works great.
     
  19. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    it always worked for me (almost always anyway). Occasionally, it'd have to be removed and put back on...or I'd have to dig into the menu and manually select mobile on, but that rarely happened. It happens a lot more on the 2.1 ROM's at the moment.
     
  20. Inspector Fuzz

    Inspector Fuzz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you need to run a backup, perform a hard reset (wipes all data and phone back to out of box settings), then only restore selective data like your contacts. Or, you can take your phone to a Repair Center Sprint Store and they can submit to tech for servicing (about 45 minutes usually), who can perform a post test on the phone and test the battery. If needed they can back up your contacts for you, hard reset, and then restore your contacts for you.
     
  21. Inspector Fuzz

    Inspector Fuzz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...continued from previous post...Well I just noticed that your profile doesnt show your device so I don't know which carrier you are with. If not Sprint, then other carriers corporate stores would at least have retail consultants that can back up your contacts with a cellebrite machine.
     
  22. schnelle34

    schnelle34 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    i turn off background data and only turn it on when i need it. its under data sync, then google
     

Share This Page

Loading...