I want to root... but

Last Updated:

1. Jcarmicha

Jcarmicha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

I've read through various pages and haven't really seen SOLID answers for the questions that concern me on the root process. I'm new to my droid having it for less than a month so I'll just jump out and ask the questions.

1. I've put a serious amount of time into my droid and would HATE to have to factory reset it. (I have all my contacts on it - A password database, and a boat load of pictures I don't want to lose) To root the droid are you required to factory reset?

2. Froyo I assume is the update for the Droid? When is this expected to be released? If a release is soon wouldn't it just make sense to wait to root after that?

3. The whole rooting process seems rather easy (I've had experience jailbreaking Ipod's - Setting a PSP to playSNES roms/ETC onto it) but there seems to be a lot of different things here (Cyangomod - Bugless Beast come to mind) what exactly is the difference..? And is there an easy approach to move from one to the other?

If anymore come to mind I'll go ahead and ask

Advertisement
  2. OMJ

OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

1. While you do have to wipe if you want a custom rom and not just stock with root. You dont have to lose much. Your contacts are automatically backed up on googles cloud, you can look at and edit them on gmail on a pc anytime. Apps and app data can be backed up by titanium backup after you root and before you load a custom rom.

2. Why wait for froyo when you can have it now??

3. Lots of differences. Look at the change logs is my best advice I guess. Cyanogenmod is different than anything out there. Tons of extra features and goodies that no other roms have. Sapphire is the most similar thing to it but sapphire is still kinda in its infancy. Bugless Beast is largely stock with stuff done to make it faster and scripts to make things easier

3. VIO

VIO Well-Known Member