I wish I never upgraded to the latest OS VersionSupport


Last Updated:

  1. shimmy

    shimmy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wish I never upgraded to the latest OS Version. Android was annoying me before, but now I think I'm gonna have to trash it. I have my caller-ID set to private, so in my contact I have *82 before some numbers to unblock it.

    With the old version I would have to also have a non-*82 version for each contact to send text messages, but now all options were taken away from me.

    With the new android OS if I have contacts like this:
    Contact name: Steve
    Phone# 1: 555-555-5555
    Phone# 2: *82555-555-5555

    It with then simply refuse to ever show the 2nd phone number when I go to make a call. This OS is pure crap, I'm going to have to go back to Palm.
     

    Advertisement
  2. kingp

    kingp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    11
    You can always re-flash back to 1.5 until you figure out what changed in 2.1...just a thought. Samsung's website should still have the CL14 updater tool.

    *edit*
    Nope, can't get the CL14 updater from there. I know the folks at sdx-developers.com have it though.
     
  3. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    Go back to CL14. If you saved the cl14 .tar you should be fine if not SDX can help you. I will have to test this later as well to see if this is also occurs on my phone.
     
  4. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    Try using the app "Dialer One" it allows you to see all numbers for a contact, as well as T9 contact entry, as well as easy insert of "pauses" into phone numbers, as well as dark or light theming, as well as various color choices, as well as....;)
     
  5. shimmy

    shimmy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried using that app, and it allowed me to see all the numbers, but then I found out even though the right number is used while messaging it still would keep giving errors and not let any text messages to send.
     
  6. seattletd

    seattletd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dialer One is cool, but still doesn't show all my *82 numbers. All other contact phone numbers show up, but edits out the *82 ones.

    any other ideas?
     
  7. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    Why are you so paranoid about showing your caller id?

    If it bugs you so much, get Google Voice and use Google Voice to call out.

    If you block your caller id, you could be costing people you call their free mobile to mobile. And most people these days won't answer private calls due to telemarketers.

    In the rare event you need to make a call to a business or somewhere you want to hide your #, then just dial *67 before the #.
     
  8. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    389
    When I go into contacts it always shows me all of the numbers. Kind of irritates me too. I don't know what you're trying to do, but when you go out of the mainstream like that you have to expect some difficulties. I also have to wonder why you're calling so many people that you need to block the number. You do know they can still have your number traced from their phone company right?

    No one ever claimed the phone or even android was perfect, but its a whole lot better than what I was using before.
     
  9. shimmy

    shimmy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why am I calling many people? It's called having friends

    I don't care if someone wants to trace my number. I have my phone private because a lot of time when I'm with friends they ask to borrow my phone, and I don't want anyone they call having my phone number. All the people in my contact list have *82 in front of their number in my contact list, so they are unblocked, well at least they use to before I upgraded to this shi*ty OS.

    It's a whole lost worse than the last phone I used.

    <edited for typos>
     
  10. zcarman

    zcarman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    46
    If you select the contact and view them, long press the *82 number and set it as the default for that person.

    Works like a charm - triple checked before I posted such a simple fix.
     
  11. shimmy

    shimmy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for trying to help, but like I mentioned when I go to contact and view them, it does not display any of the *82 numbers, so I can not long press it like you advised.
     
  12. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    LOL if you have to block your number from your friends, they're really not your friends then. :D
     
    IOWA likes this.
  13. shimmy

    shimmy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha, no all the people in my contact list have *82 in front of their number in my contact list, so they are unblocked, well at least they use to before I upgraded and the new OS broke the contact list. I have my phone private because a lot of time when I'm with friends they ask to borrow my phone, and I don't want anyone they call having my phone number.
     
  14. zcarman

    zcarman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    46
    So do you want to have all numbers blocked - then have some go through with your number? If so, all you have to do is set the dialing rules to do that and delete it from the contacts...
     
  15. shimmy

    shimmy Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    there are no dialing rules that do that
     
  16. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367

Share This Page

Loading...