I897UCJH3 Firmware (NEW)


Last Updated:

  1. born_fisherman

    born_fisherman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    19
    Another firmware shown on samsung-firmwares.com

    Samsung I897 -

    Download link

    Multiupload.com - upload your files to multiple file hosting sites!

    I don't have my data cable with me to try it out.. I'm running JH2 right now for the past week and the only issue I have with that version is when you Uncheck Use GPS Satellites" the phone reboots.. so I just leave it alone!

    Anyone want to try it and give us their thoughts on this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. George0211

    George0211 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    27
    I'll update my phone tonight.

    I'm new to this, so here is a dumb question. What's the best way to back up the phone?
     
  3. born_fisherman

    born_fisherman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    19
    Wish I could help.. but I don't put too much into my phones to even have the need to backup items. I think there is something like App brain that has something to with backing up.. not 100% on this.
     
  4. ScaGin

    ScaGin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    Titanium Backup works great, you must be rooted.
     
  5. Terrigno

    Terrigno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    8
    Uhh. What firmware do you go with there? Africas? lol
     
  6. George0211

    George0211 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    27
    What about not-rooted phones?
     
  7. thindery

    thindery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    64
  8. sparker366

    sparker366 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    8
    Whats with the dll file. Shouldn't there also be a pit file?
     
  9. born_fisherman

    born_fisherman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    19
    I don't think you need a pit file to flash the rom, just the .TAR
     
  10. sparker366

    sparker366 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yeah looked on xda and saw that. I flashed it to jh3 and rooted and restoring titanium backup now and will check things out. What all do you want me too look for. I know jh2 broke a few market apps like paypal and fandango hope they fixed it in this.

    Going to test gps indoors and out and see if it fixed anything. I know my gps has been locking on much quicker as of late but was on stock firmware.
     
  11. born_fisherman

    born_fisherman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPS definitely.. And startup time - supposedly JH2 made startup faster (due to the media scanner being fast) but I did not notice any difference in startup time with JH2..
     
  12. simulator

    simulator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    So far seems to be a lot snappier than the original stock firmware. Seems to correct the overly bright screen issue. Seems to have corrected the battery issue. I will edit the post as I notice anything different.

    Edit: can't deal with the market issue, so I'm going back to F6. Didn't see any immediate benefit with GPS anyway.
     
  13. sparker366

    sparker366 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    8
    All the gps apps that I have tested with enable wifi location off my phone locks within 15 secs indoors . When I first got the phone it wouldn't lock at all when I was inside and outside it was very iffy at times. I am getting 10m's with 7/10 sats and its raining.

    Now there is still the issue of fandango and paypal not showing up in the market but guess there is a market app fix somewhere for that.

    Well not sure about the speed of the media scanner but from when I turned on the phone till it said media scanning complete I counted to 107 in a steady count.
     
  14. George0211

    George0211 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    27
    Is the battery better than JH2 update or just stock? JH2 firmware made battery last a lot longer than stock.
     
  15. ewingr

    ewingr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    30
    This is an interesting post on an app I had emailed about not seeing. I wonder if it is the reason some apps are not being seen.
     
  16. ranova

    ranova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    74
  17. ewingr

    ewingr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    30
    Was just coming back here to post that :D

    Looks like we need to do a bit of customizing to make these new ROMS work.

    I'm anxious to see results from someone doing a thorough test of GPS with this one.
     
  18. alphadog00

    alphadog00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    12
    Why do you say you have to be rooted? Odin doesn't require root to flash a new firmware.
     
  19. George0211

    George0211 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    27
    On xda forums, so far the early results are, GPS and Compass are definitely better than before and battery life seemed to have improved over JH2.
     
  20. thindery

    thindery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    64
    Sorry, I didn't make it clear. I didn't mean you needed to be rooted to flash the firmware(obviusly that's dumb because you'd just be unrooted again.)

    I meant that the poster might as well get rooted and use titanium backup, since it's so easy to root this phone. Then he can flash whatever rom he wants.
     
  21. thindery

    thindery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    64
    I like that we can actually see Samsung is working on the issues with this phone. Makes me feel kind of bad for giving them a hard time earlier. :rolleyes:
     
  22. sparker366

    sparker366 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    8
    Well initally it locked on real fast now its back to like it was when I first got it. It finds the sats 5-8 but doesn't lock now. Have shut the phone off numerous times and still no go. So I might just flash back to stock again and wait for another. As I write this which took me several minutes it still has not locked though it found 6 sats. Wifi enable is also off.
     
  23. ewingr

    ewingr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    30
    Interesting how the emotions go with this. As noted, good to see they are working on it. but disheartening to see no progress.

    Just anxious for results.
     
  24. simulator

    simulator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    4
    Given my experience with H3, I'd wait. GPS didn't seem to be behaving any differently but that was me.
     
  25. George0211

    George0211 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    27
    So I started the flash process with Odin3 and it's stuck on zImage step. Any ideas if this is normal? It's been like this for about 10 minutes now
     

Share This Page

Loading...