• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Ice cream sandwich - Galaxy ace

Hey everyone I am new here, this is my first post I hope I am in the right forum. Here is my question, will the Galaxy Ace be getting ICS (Ice cream sandwich) and if so should I upgrade or stay on Gingerbread?

Welcome To The Forum. Not sure mate. It's exclusive to Samsung's new Galaxy Nexus phone at the moment. It may be available for our phones in the future but don't get your hopes up. On some networks in the UK haven't even updated the SGA to Gingerbread yet!!

Upvote 0
Hey everyone I am new here, this is my first post I hope I am in the right forum. Here is my question, will the Galaxy Ace be getting ICS (Ice cream sandwich) and if so should I upgrade or stay on Gingerbread?

Hi,

Can you please tell me step by step procedure to upgrade my ace from froyo to gingerbread?
I am new to this so it would be appreciated if you tell me in detail.
Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Niranjan

Upvote 0
Hi,

Can you please tell me step by step procedure to upgrade my ace from froyo to gingerbread?
I am new to this so it would be appreciated if you tell me in detail.
Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Niranjan

I have updated my phoneto gingerbread officially. The steps are
Connect your phone to samsung kies
click on your phone name there.
It will show that there is a firmware upgrade available.
Do that
you will get gingerbread

Upvote 0
Apparently, the Galaxy Ace is just a few steps below Galaxy S-II and it's 70% sure that the I.C.S (Ice Cream Sandwich) will be available for us S-5830 (Galaxy Ace) users...
Although, our version will not be as great as others. Nevertheless, our version will still be available in the near future (maybe Christmas).
It's proven that it will be, because Samsung executive producers said that it will be available to almost every phone that can support Gingerbread.