1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Icon dock like on the Pre?


Last Updated:

  1. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey, Well this is my first post, I am new to Android. Moving over from Palm, I have been with them from the days of the Treo 600. And I love the look of the Palm Pre but went with the Sprint HTC Hero. So I was wondering if there is a app the will give me a wave icon dock like what is on the Pre? I have a 3rd party app that I used on my Centro and loved it!

    Well any help would be great.

    Thanks James
     

    Advertisement
  2. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    I am not sure of how the docks are set up on the Pre but PandaHome has up to 6 configurable sidebars for docking icons that I find quite functional, along with many other enhancements to the home screens (like allowing themes and up to 11 screens). I have been having some problems with the latest releast but I am sure it will all be worked out in the near future.
     
  3. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    @shrink57 Thanks, I will look in to it and see if its what I am trying to do.

    The dock on the Pre is never on the screen until you slide your finger up from the bottom and the dock comes up with it and lets you pick from 5 apps. This can be done no matter where you are at in the phone.

    So if I am on the web I can go rite to a text msg app or to my facebook app with out having to go to home and finding the app its self. (on screen)
     
  4. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
  5. jimdroid

    jimdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    106
    Press and Hold the Home button and you will be able to choose from the last 6 apps you have launched. I know it's not exactly the same, but it's all I'm aware of.

    jd
     
  6. jasnmb

    jasnmb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    9
  7. jimdroid

    jimdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    106
  8. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    @jimdroid, Thanks That is what I have been doing. I guess it would be cool if I could pick 6 apps I use often and have them there. Dont get me wrong, love the phone just missing that one thing in my mind. well that and some kind of widget that shows cpu use, power battery level, wifi , sd card info all in one.
     
  9. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149

    Sounds like the dockbar will do the trick. They remain hidden (except for a tiny activation button in the corners of your screen taking away no valuable real estate). You can configure how wide and tall the bars are (each one can be configured differently). I keep bars for internet apps, reference apps, navagations stuff, and system tools.
     
  10. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    What are you running it on? I just rear a comment about it hurting someones Hero, I have a sprint hero. But sounds like a good app.
     
  11. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    I'm running a Motorola Droid. Again, the very latest release is a bit buggy on some systems (and from the comments I have read is running fine on others). I haven't heard anything about "hurting" someones phone. Worse come to worse, just uninstall it. I did an by luck had a backed up previous version that runs fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...