• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Icon Pics look Grainy at best

bartjunited

Nov 24, 2009
Hi can anyone help Im a HTC Hero newbie.

my icon pics that i attach for contacts look really grainy when i call them.

These are all decent sized pics which i previously used on a S.E phone without any problems.

when i add a pic to a contact i have to choose part of the pic rather than the whole pic, even if i chose as large a selection as poss it still looks a bir grainy when using the pic.

Any ideas pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeee

btw im using the default People App unless there is something better i should be using

You can extend the selection area you know, and drag it out so that it selects the whole picture?

If you didn't do this and only selected a smaller section of your photo, the Hero would have stretched that smaller segment out possibly causing the grainy effect.

I bet the picture will be clear if you select the whole picture! Try it and let me know if it works.

Upvote 0
Arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

dude you are right.

this morning i spoke to HTC & T mobile & they thought it could be cos i had an old firmware on my phone. So i upgraded to the latest ROM version & hey presto it seemed to work fine.

So i then proceeded to re-add all the pics today to my phone, meanwhile I had NOT sync'd my contacts at all I tend to turn off the Internet when not using it.

Once i saw your mail I thought let me try this.

I let it Sync the contacts & lo & behold it def resizes the pics on Google prob to save space on the contact web pages. Now all the pics look sh!t again.

arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!

oh well back to re-add ALLLLLLLLL the pics again & no more Google Synching

thanks though at least it solved my issue

Upvote 0