I'd like to have the screen stay on when charging/on AC powerSupport


Last Updated:

  1. answerman

    answerman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    46
    The title says it all. I would like the screen to stay on (on whatever brightness it's normally set at) when connected to external power. I've found the Settings/Applications/Development "Stay Awake" checkbox, but the screen still dims down after 30 seconds, though it doesn't go completely off. Is there a way to keep the screen on?

    All the WinMo phones I had had two separate profiles... one for on battery and one for when on a charger, and you could set the screen brightness and timeout independently for each power profile.

    The reason for this is that I have a dashmount cradle of sorts that I use, and I generally put the phone in it and plug it in when I'm driving any sort of distance. I do things like look at the phone signal, see if new mail comes in, etc. while driving, and it's just reassuring to look down at the phone and see it doing something without having to hit the power button.
     

    Advertisement
  2. kemichels

    kemichels Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Should be able to use Tasker for this, I imagine.
     
    URNotEntitled likes this.
  3. Jermflux

    Jermflux Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well, I guess you could set your "screen time out" for 30 minutes. That will at least buy you some more time.
     
  4. dhj

    dhj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    4
    I use Setting Profiles, and one of my profiles is set to keep the phone on when connected to AC. Works great.
     
    themonk likes this.
  5. appleaj

    appleaj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    55
    Go download the Toggle Screen Timeout widget, then whenever you push it, it turns the screen timeout off. If you want it automated, I'd suggest Tasker.
     
    URNotEntitled likes this.
  6. answerman

    answerman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    46
    Wow, really? I was hoping I was just being obtuse. There isn't a setting native to the OS for this? Weird.
     
  7. Old Crow

    Old Crow Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    From your home screen, click menu, then settings, then applications, then development. There is checkbook in there that stop the phone com going into sleep mode when plugged in. Hope this helps.
     
    NorahAura, lizm and i.bike.for.life like this.
  8. Old Crow

    Old Crow Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sorry didn't read your whole post before posting previous.
     
  9. jbdan

    jbdan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    3,187
    +1 ..... or keep screen on toggle in switchpro and power widgetand maybe some others idk about.
     

Share This Page

Loading...