I'd like WiFi tethering and to overclock only. Recommendations?


Last Updated:

  1. colornshape

    colornshape Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    My phone has the 2.1 OTA and no other modifications. Does anybody here know a simple way to get those two things? Also, I'm giving this to my sixty year old father in November and should be sure I can undo anything so it works right for him.

    Thank you,

    Matt
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jazza09

    Jazza09 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. colornshape

    colornshape Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thank you. The one click thread is horribly complicated and difficult tn follow. If I stop after step 5 and install an overclock and wifi tether program from the source you recommended, will I then have those two capabilities?

    If I only do those things is there a reasonable chance of bricking my phone? Can those things be undone and my phone returned to factory settings?

    Is a Nand backup advisable if I don't intend to use any custom ROMs? Is there any reason for me to wonder what a bootloader is?

    Again, thank you.

    Matt
     
  4. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    After step 5 you have root privileges and can then install SetCPU and something like WirelessTether (just download it from the Market). SetCPU is a couple bucks on the market, or free from the xda forums if you are a member.

    It's highly unlikely you'll brick your phone. I've never heard of it happening around here.

    Yes, a nand backup is essential whether you load a custom rom or not. I would do a nand backup immediately after step 5. After doing this, then go ahead and install SetCPU and a tethering app of your choice.
     
  5. colornshape

    colornshape Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    Okay, thank you. If I may trouble you for one more clarification, why do the backup after step five and not before step one?

    Matt
     
  6. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    A nand backup is only available once you root. It is part of the Amon Recovery that you get when you root.
     
  7. colornshape

    colornshape Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ah. Splendid. Thank you. If this is my last post it means my phone has been transformed into am expensive battery protector.

    Matt
     
  8. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    I'm sure you'll be back :)
     
  9. colornshape

    colornshape Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    Seems to have worked fine. Now I just have to figure out how to use setcpu.

    Thank you very much.

    Matt
     
  10. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
  11. colornshape

    colornshape Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks, but the slider is stuck at 528, which looks to be the max. Anybody know what the problem is? That tutorial from the setcpu dev page offers no guidance on that. I reinstalled, it but am reluctant to start deleting files whose purpose I don't understand. Is the rootme rom compatible with setcpu?

    Thank you

    Matt
     
  12. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,662
    Likes Received:
    22,012
    Matt,

    Just a few quick clarifications from the above. The stock kernel for the Eris (and the phone itself) has a base clock speed of 528MHz. So thats why you can't overclock (yet).

    You actually have one more step to do before you can overclock and that would be to replace / update the stock kernel with a patched kernel that is capable of being overclocked.

    This is done by flashing Zanfur's overclock patch. Here's a link to a post I made instructing how to do this: http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/135849-how-do-i-flash-oc-patch.html#post1253948

    Good luck and let us know if you have any other questions.

    edit: Also forgot, the "rootme.zip" is actually not a ROM but an "update.zip"-type file that installs the su program and the SuperUser.apk application. This is what actually gives you root. You do the other stuff about getting Amon_RA's custom recovery installed so that you can flash the rootme.zip file to get you actual root access (or to flash other things, and make Nandroid backups, etc.). Hope that clarifies some things for you.

    Cheers!
     
  13. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    Oh, I know what's going on... rootme doesn't have the overclock kernel that you need. You need to grab "kernel-overclock-update-v3.zip" from the bottom of post 1. You'll need to flash this zip file using amon recovery. The zip files is to be placed at the root of your sdcard.

    Overclock Patch and update.zip - xda-developers

    Edit: scary beat me to it...
     
  14. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,662
    Likes Received:
    22,012
    :D :D :D [usually, its xx_bishop_xx that beats me!, lol]

    edit: +1 to you, LED for going back and taking care of Matt. Kudos to you.
     
  15. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    Thanks scary, I was kindly helped out by others prior to rooting, and the least I can do is return the favor to someone else. This whole rooting thing has been a blast and I'd hate to see someone shy away from it for lack of support.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  16. colornshape

    colornshape Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    Fashizzle. I'm about to download v 3 of the recommended kernel. This would go faster if my phone was overclocked.

    Matt
     
  17. colornshape

    colornshape Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    Um... well, I tried to do a Nand backup and got the following message:

    Error : Run 'nandroid-mobile.sh' <page break> via adb!

    Anybody have any idea what that means?

    Matt
     
  18. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    Your battery is low... plug it in and try again.
     
  19. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,662
    Likes Received:
    22,012
    Make sure you have a full charge (or at least 75% or so) on your phone and/or are connected to a power supply. You can just try it again...I've gotten this error before you can safely just retry the backup.

    If it fails again, well, there might be an issue with your /sdcard perhaps...

    Let us know.

    edit: touche', LED...you win this round! :D
     
  20. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    lol, we're even now!
     
  21. colornshape

    colornshape Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'll try over and over with the charger connected until the seas boil and the sun fades to nothing. I have had trouble with this SD card. Songs sometimes fail to load, eta. Here we go.
     
  22. colornshape

    colornshape Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    Nope. Once the row of periods made it all the way across the screen before it stopped. On every other try it gave up after the first one. What about the BART option?

    Thanks,

    Matt
     
  23. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    Hmmm, are you low on free space on the sdcard? You need roughly 250 MB for a nand. I don't know what bart is other than it stands for backup and restore tool.
     
  24. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,662
    Likes Received:
    22,012
    +1 re. the free space.

    I can't imagine that if a Nandroid backup won't work that a BART backup would either--I think the difference is in what partitions each backup. You've got to figure that the BART backup would also be transferring a lot of data (i.e., 250-plus MBs) just like Nandroid would.

    So, I would be suspicious of your current /sdcard and probably try a different /sdcard when you can get your hands on one. A good Nandroid backup is like a life-preserver...you won't appreciate it until you really need it :D.

    Also, once you make a successful Nandroid backup, it is probably a good idea to transfer (save) the Nandroid backup "off-site" to your computer / another disk drive...especially one that is taken on a card that might be a little iffy.

    Good luck...take your time and be safe. :)
     
  25. colornshape

    colornshape Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    Oh. Yeah, 23 meg available. I can make room , but I need that space. Will that be used forever, or can I move the backup data to somewhere else? And, how? I should have asked.
     

Share This Page

Loading...