• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Ideas and help for Noobs?

Alright I'm a NOOB so hopefully no one will judge me. I love working with technology and messing with things like phones etc. but some things I just do not know yet and was hoping everyone can help me out in any sort or way? 1st question is what is the code you dial usually starts with a # or a * to get into more settings or extra things on the phone? and secondly any advice from anyone on anything I can do for customization? without root for now. I will be rooting later but not just yet.

I've been working with computers. but this is a different realm for me. I want to learn more. Just starting with basics. things I can do without root for now. and then maybe a simple easy root I can do ? so i wont brick this thing. I would like the root from someone very experienced with this device, and someone who can give a good set of directions. Thanks to everyone who can help out.

Running ICS Kies version.
-Samsung GS2 Skyrocket =)

Welcome to the forums, PaulK!
We were all once noobs so don't worry about it. We're glad to have you here. :)
What exactly are you looking to customize? Are you looking for a different "look"? You can change the launcher from stock TouchWiz to GoLauncher or ADW (among a million others) which will allow you to do a whole lot more. They're both free in the Play Store.
In terms of dialing a "code", I'm not exactly sure what you mean (and this is likely carrier dependent of AT&T which I'm not familiar with). I recall a couple years ago changing a setting that way to slightly improve my call quality. It is something that CAN bork your phone.
If and when you're ready to root, check out the All Things Root guide for the Skyrocket and ask ANY and ALL questions you have. We're here to help.

Upvote 0