Idiots rooting help request


Last Updated:

  1. larry0071

    larry0071 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    I am familiar with my WinMobPro (Imagio) and had gone through the process for loading roms and whatnot, but this Android is new to me and I have no one to go to for any help.

    I am installing the Samsung drivers at the moment, they are going very slow to install. I have downloaded 2 PC baced root packages from the sticky at the top of this forum. The V2 and the V02 that is supposed to set you up for wifi tethering... assuming I understand correctly.

    My plan is to use the V02 for wireless tether V2.05, as I used WiFi trther often with the Imagio and miss that ability a lot!

    My assumption is that I start out just as I am, install drivers and then unzip and run the root software. I am under the impresion that all of the other discussed steps and recomendations are to be done after I complete the rooting of the OS. Am I reading this right?

    I also keep reading about backing up. Is this to be performed after I unzip and perform the root mod, or is this to be completed now... before I run the unzipped root software?

    I see this Clockwork software talked about, but I don't understand what it is or what it does.

    I'll ask more once someone fills me in on these questions, I want to to do this right the first time!
     

    Advertisement
  2. larry0071

    larry0071 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    It appears that ODIN and ClockWork are two competing and similar applications used to install ROMs and perform system backups. Is this true? Do I need one, or do I need both?
     
  3. larry0071

    larry0071 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    OK,

    So for those that like me... are scared and confused over this... You need to download ODIN and it is the software that you must use to activate Clockworkmod.

    I've went this far.

    So I installed drivers from the link provided. This install took a looong time, about 10 minutes.
    I installed the Root V02, total time about 3 minutes for this step.
    I went back in after reboot and turned off the debugging mode and turned off the screen keep alive.
    I downloaded ODIN
    I downloaded Clockwork
    I turned off the phone, held volume down and pluged in USB cable and got the yellow triangle immediately upon plugging in the cable.
    I clicked on the ODIN software and the software opened a big control panel. Not much meant anything to me in here, but I immediately saw the one and only button labeled as PDA. Then I went and hit PDA button and it opens an OPEN FILE box and I browsed to and selected the Clockworkmod file and hit enter.
    The upper left green bar progressed and when that was fully green (only the one bar of the many) the phone rebooted itself. This took maybe 10 seconds.

    This is where I am currently. I've not made any changes yet.

    I'm doing this because the fragmented links and instructions assume the person has some idea what is happening. I do not! Maybe it will help another person that is going through this and ease some of the fear.
     
    BrennB likes this.
  4. larry0071

    larry0071 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    Clockwork is not in the ap drawer. I am not understanding how to get to it or use it.... or why I want to use it. I guess I'm missing out on something that should be common logic. I'll keep trying to find something better, but so far I read this and it does not register with me:

    I do not know what "reboot recovery and Rom Manager" is...?
     
  5. kenyu73

    kenyu73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    38
  6. larry0071

    larry0071 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    OK, thank you!

    So this Rom Manager is a software you need to go get in the market on your Fascinate. There is a free and a paid version, I got the free one. Is there anything I must have access to that requires the paid version?

    I dod get the backup completed also. I'm moving along.

    I am currently reading and trying to wrap my mind around the thread you just pointed me to. I like what I am seeing.

    How does a person work with the .apk file, do I place on my PC and click it there to install it, or do I drag to a folder on the SD card and activate it from within the phone?
     
  7. larry0071

    larry0071 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    Found this in the read me file in the clock set program, it kind of explains what to do with the .apk files...

     
  8. larry0071

    larry0071 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    Wow. So I found success! By following the link provided by Kenyu73 I got de-binged, backed up, de-bloated and I am pretty much running along.

    I have Set CPU installed, but I can't really see what I am supposed to do with that. I opened it and let it auto detect and it defaulted to conservative with 1GHZ max and 100MHZ as min, I just backed out and left it that way because I don;t know what I'm doing there.

    Maybe if SAPS hits this he can tell me what to do with that.

    The super sweet thing is that Google voice understands the Pittsburgh accent perfectly! Also the new car dock is google maps and google voice command.... This is how things were meant to be! Sweet!

    I the morning I'll make a backup of this modified setup with all the frozen stuff and the changes made, I'm going to bed now with only the stock backup, I suspect it can make it through the night without another backup.

    Thanks for the help, I am sure I'll need more as I fumble my way through this more over the holiday. I am off until Monday, so I have some time to play while the wife and kids do thier thing.

    Larry
     
  9. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    When I get home later ill read through this thread better but glad we got a few new members to the fascinate community : )
     
  10. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    the kernels we have available all default to 100 min 1000mhz max upon auto detect and unless you stumble upon an oc kernel it ll always be that way.

    some people have issues running 100mhz min with an undervolt kernel, so they move the min to 200 mhz and that seems to do the trick.
     
  11. larry0071

    larry0071 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    Nitsuj,

    One thing that killed me with windows mobile custom roms is that the chef always removed vcast and some other stock stuff that I must have been the only dumb ass using.

    Do these roms work by allowing you to freeze the applications you don't want, or are they bare bones and gutted?
     
  12. kenyu73

    kenyu73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    38
    They are gutted/removed.
     
  13. suXor

    suXor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    56
    larry, there are various flavors of core ROMs. From stock to clean and ASOP. It's a matter of finding the one that meets your needs. If you use ROM manager, you can build your own ROM on the fly with what you want.

    Clockwork is a low level application that allows you to install unsigned ZIP files to the device. These ZIPs can be any component of the device from the modem to the kernel to just an app.

    Freezing an app is essentially like renaming the file so the OS doesn't see it. Titanium Backup Pro does this. If you would rather not buy that, you will need to use a file manager that will take advantage of ROOT/SU access to write/modify system files.
     
  14. larry0071

    larry0071 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    I already went and purchased the pro versions of all the suggested applications.

    The stripped down thing is why I gave up on custom roms, there was no way for me to get vcast video back, and I use vcast each day at work.... I'm addicted! So I went back to a stock rom after fighting unstable apps and the lack of vcast video.

    Saps, I know you've tried about every rom out there, is there a loaded rom that is good and stable and still supports my beloved vcast video? I do not use the vcast music or the vcast tones, but I do love smallville, vampire diaries, family guy and a bunch more!
     
  15. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654
    backup vcast in tibu...then restore it after you flash the rom
     
  16. larry0071

    larry0071 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    I'm not sure what Tibu is, I don't think I've come acrossed that one in the links yet. If you have a link to where they talk about that, I'll go get it.

    I just did the new backup with ClockWorkMod of the system.

    Then I installed the WiFi tether .apk and ran a test of my Comcast and then of the WiFi tether on www.speedtest.net to see what it runs like.

    Comcast:
    [​IMG]

    Fascinate:
    [​IMG]

    When you load these kernals, is it the same as loading a ROM?

    Do they wipe the phone, and if so, what is the method of backup that will make the phone appear as if nothing happened? I dod the ClockWorkMod backup, does that cover the texts, MMS, and all the other stuff?

    And now for the cry baby question, I am also somewhat addicted to Robo Defense and am at level 138, If I have to wipe the data and reload the applications, do I loose this and have to start over at level 1 again?

    Larry
     
  17. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    130
    TIbu is titanium backup we just like to abb everything lol
     
  18. larry0071

    larry0071 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    Ok, I paid for the high version of that.

    How do you back up individual things with it?
     
  19. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    130
    Just into tibu and click on backup/Restore find what you want to backup click on it and click backup
     
  20. larry0071

    larry0071 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    Here is my list of things I downloaded and installed:
    Astro
    Rom Manager
    Set CPU
    SuperUser
    Titanium Backup
    Clockwork Recovery
    IDIN3 V 1.3
    Fascinate Root V2
    Google Maps Car Dock
    Enhanced Google Search Provider
    The WiFi Tether thing.

    I also put these items in frozen status:
    411 Search
    Bing
    BlockBuster
    Buddies Now
    Car Cradle 1.0
    City ID
    Mobile IM
    Skype Mobile
    Vcast Music
    Voice Command Vsuite 4.0VZ Navigator

    Does anyone know exactly what the ALLSHARE thing is?
     
  21. larry0071

    larry0071 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    34
    For some reason I am not able to find Robo Defense in that list. Bummer.

    I might stop here, I got the navigation and voice search fixed. I got a lot of the useless stuff out of sight and out of mind. I got my WiFi tether back. I'm pretty freaking happy!
     
  22. davidnmegan6907

    davidnmegan6907 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    130
    Depending on what you are flashing most likely the stuff you have froze will be removed.. And I'm not sure what allshare is its not on my device?
     
  23. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    654

    You flash a kernel just like you flash a rom yes. It won't wipe ur data.

    My advice is to stay away from voodoo kernels though until you are more familiar with what they are and do
     
  24. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Larry it sounds like you are up and running now and welcome to root btw.
    Just in case and Im assuming you have not leapt to DJ05 build yet, if you do there is a stock deodex ROM available as well. Or as suggested above you can merely freeze desired apps in Ti. Sorry I didnt see this sooner be not here a lot lately :eek:
     
  25. blondebro7

    blondebro7 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys i know my question is abit of a back track but are there bennifits to one click rooting as apposed to do it yourself style? i have had amazing luck with Z4 root with one click lag fix? thoughts comments?
     

Share This Page

Loading...