if DROID 1 cant tether why did verizon sell me a boxed phone with USB cord/charger?


Last Updated:

  1. buckeyeredeye

    buckeyeredeye Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Love for people to jot down no brainers and solid " just thought about its" as to why our purchase of droid 1 is now not valid as the full froyo worthy? Example #1: USB cord/charger shipped in same box when its minus the " hardware" to tether or Wi-Fi.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Filipino.Cowboy

    Filipino.Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    17
    I don't know if I understand...you asking why did they give you a USB cord/charger if they state it can't tether? If that is the question, then you answered it. It's a charger also. You can also transfer data to your phone via the cord...
     
  3. buckeyeredeye

    buckeyeredeye Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    ;)Thanks for adding a comment or rather asking about my comment, Yes I know I answered my own question. ..... I was thinking out loud, my bad.... I am a droid 1 owner and I was fine with all my phone has offered plus with froyo coming pleases me more......yet I must admit I do feel a little short changed with the lack of Wi-Fi / tethering.... not whining, just looking for people who want to add their 2.50 . I am new to forums and I do lack some computer knowledge and or skills. .... being said I love observing forum, want to learn more and I do own a droid to which is my only form of internet. I never owned a PC and or a laptop. Bottom line is I guess I dont know why a phone so touted and showcased for 9-10 months and interested the masses now isn't quilified to get full throttle? I know we can pdanet for tether and we can root the our property but heck I guess I feel like a sucker for getting pulled into the whole publicity thing with verizon and waved my little vz issued flag. Lol! Yes I feel I little short changed not by Google not Motorola but verizon with a small V.... they didn't need you or I they just want to kill apple using our wallets...... PS. I guess I had a brain fart lol,I know the cord is also used as a conduit to transfer music, vidios and pics ect. But honestly no one thought about tethering capabilities? Vz, so into web domination with data,data,data? We know it can (droid), I seen it.... maybe its the "LIE " that gets to me......( droid wasn't given the" hardware".)
     
  4. buckeyeredeye

    buckeyeredeye Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was just on the web for android 2.2 updates, I guess my gripe is small compared to what happened with vodaphone GoMo News Mobile News Were kings and queens rule the people are # 2.....
     
  5. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    21
    let me get this right, a droid 1 cannot tether period? how about when rooted?
     
  6. 3devious

    3devious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    115
    It can. You can use the USB tether options you had before 2.1 and if you root, you can use wifi tethering.
     
    cornbreadfarts likes this.
  7. buckeyeredeye

    buckeyeredeye Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks cornbread for asking and 3devious for answering. Ya know im no Jay Leno or Larry king lol! My hearts in the right place: ) I started this thread totally from a virgin nerd take on android, I haven't rooted yet.... (scared ill brick) lol! Also, I was being Mr. Verizon customer nice Guy and waiting on full froyo so I could tether to a lap top..... I wanted vz to give me the green light:) well they say. " can't" ...... I am with you and I will do what it takes to get tether now. I think my first thread was a bit misinformed on my part sorry .I was reacting to my own feelings with verizons announcement not to allow tethering Wi-Fi capabilities because of lack of "hardware". It was a lie so now I can go on with my life lol! I guess we need to spread the word in a peaceable manner that you can indeed tether and let newbies know as myself that verizon didn't create the phone Google spoke it into being. Thanks!
     
  8. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    21
    thanks. i will def. be rooting [trading my eris, :)]. had a rooted eris for 6 months or so, done all it can, tired of it. lol. and from what i can see, the moto droid dev scene is huge. and if a guy wants to trade straight up, i cant say no.
     
  9. 3devious

    3devious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    115
    Yeah, Verizon really shouldn't have said that. If I were them, I would have told people that they want to use the VZW app to do wifi and USB tethering because of the extra security it would provide. New people love extra security, so they wouldn't have lost that much revenue.

    Now, they are just encouraging people to mistrust them and to root the device. It's kind of a shame.
     
  10. buckeyeredeye

    buckeyeredeye Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well they sold the phone as the work of the Trinity,Google,Motorola and verizon. Good phone( droid) built well and a nice peice of equipment . Im definetly pro open format as far as android is concerned. I feel we as consumers bought the phone to use not as toys but for extensions of our office or home. I had used a land line which I cancelled and went all cell provider ,I had a phone company for 20 years and loyally went with verizon as my phone carrier..... im going their way, dont know why they want to turn good androidians into sewer rats lol! So is rooting your phone like taking a classic Chevrolet belair with a 6 cylinder automatic and pulling the motor and dropping a fresh 350 V8 with quad barrels and a installing a mild cam cutting a hole in othe floor and mounting a hurst 4 speed? The droid is a wonderful phone..... they give you options with apps and updates. But limited to to just their ideals isn't it kinda like a little girls cardboard doll cutout with paper clothes accessories? So question: is all 3 rd party apps not secure? Like using pdanet vs Verizon's app for hotspots/tether? Just a question albeit maybe a dumb one lol!
     
  11. labwizard

    labwizard Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    I used PdaNet on my unrooted Droid one with Froyo 2.2 installed and it works fine. Maybe the Second part of the update will change that but for now it is tethered.
     
  12. buckeyeredeye

    buckeyeredeye Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    How cool is that! Maybe I should switch from the sky is falling to my gosh the sky is still blue! Lol! Im waiting for ota,heard its on hold for a little.... or is it rumor? Not much in the news about it.
     
  13. labwizard

    labwizard Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm hearing the 12th, I manually updated mine but there is talk that there is another update coming due to some Adobe Flash fixes.
     
  14. buckeyeredeye

    buckeyeredeye Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I waited for 2.2 like a little kid. I've waited this long so a couple more days wont kill me. Still a far cry better than waiting for the 2.1 update. I must say verizon did act on this more aggressively. Hmmm, did I say something nice? I've learned if there is something you dont like about a subject, situation or object there usually is good things as well. :) you know, there are soooooo many species of android phones now its kinda hard to keep track. Here is a question: ebay, I want to buy and sell with my droid. Buying is mastered already. Selling is another problem for me. I can go to sell I can write out description. Shipping, and find category. When it comes to pictures I can place only one in the picture attachment were as ide like two to three. I use photobucket with photos uploaded from my gallery. I cut and paste the direct url. One picture appears and I can veiw, it is there a trick to putting more pictures of the object i want to sell on the page? Do I need flash to post more pics? I know this question is not really the theme of the thread I started but heck im like a meteorite I made an entry but I have many off branch subjects and dont know really were they belong on here lol!
     

Share This Page

Loading...