If I install Fresh, can I install an uncapped fps kernel later?


Last Updated:

  1. tracerit

    tracerit Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    42
    tried searching for an answer but couldn't find anything. finally did the 2.2 root (whew!) but i totally forgot to choose a ROM so i'm stuck now lol. Fresh seems to be easily updated and has workign wimax from what i read but it also is still capped at 30fps. just wondering if i can install an uncapped kernel later on or if it all has to be done at the same time.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rdot9

    Rdot9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    24
    You can install a new kernel later
     
    tracerit likes this.
  3. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    Yes u can install a custom Kernel later.
     
    tracerit likes this.
  4. tracerit

    tracerit Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    42
    which kernal that can uncap the fps is best with Fresh?
     
  5. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    I will say netarchys-toast but you can flash kings as well.
     
  6. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    I have a question to ask here... how do you flash kernals??? I got the rom's... but.... god I'm so lost here.

    -edit-

    Are there any roms and kernals that DONT mess other things up? So far from my searching and reading it seems to be a trade off for this, in exchange for this you won't be able to use that.... are there any that actually just WORK like keeping the phone stock does??
     
  7. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    Same way as you flash a ROM but no need to do a factory reset u only wipe both of ur caches.
    Most of the Sense ROMs out there have everything working, I'm not a fan or Sense so I run AOSP,4G,HDMI and FM radio are not working at the moment. I don't have any use for them so I don't mind not having them.

    Head over to http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=653 there plenty of ROMs there to choose from just read everything they have to offer and pick the one you like.
     
  8. tracerit

    tracerit Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    42
    i ended up flashing netarchy-toast and WOW! the uncapped fps really shows during overall use, when i'm changing windows, scrolling, and opening apps. it's not faster, but it's much much smoother.

    when you say to wipe both caches, which caches do we wipe and how?
     
  9. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    +1 on that, what the heck are we wiping and how exactly do we go about that??
     
  10. I Like Soup

    I Like Soup Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    As Buser confirmed for me earlier, you need to wipe the cache and Dalvik cache. You can do this from recovery.
     
  11. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    Before u flash a Kernel u wipe the caches( cache, dalvik-cache) from Recovery. I don't know which recovery u r using but they should be under wipe.
     
    tracerit likes this.
  12. tracerit

    tracerit Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    42
    if i wanted to remove the netarch-toast kernerl and go back to the kernel that came with Fresh 3.2.0.0 do i wipe the two caches (cache and dalvik-cache)?
     
  13. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    If you go into Fresh Updater u can flash the stock Kernel from there and I'm sure it will do all on its own.
     
  14. tracerit

    tracerit Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    42
    I tried something else instead and just did the two wipes and checked and the kernel is no longer netarchy-toast. loading up fresh updater, there's no new updates listed under ROMs but then again I don't have any servers configured.

    is it safe to do the two wipes later on after i finalize things? reason why i'm asking is because it didn't seem to wipe my current Fresh ROM settings, all my settings were still there until I did a Factory Reset.
     
  15. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    The Kernel is under tweak,when u wipe both caches ur are only wiping background data all your settings will remain the same. A factory wipe is not required unless u r flashing a different ROM.
     
    tracerit likes this.
  16. tracerit

    tracerit Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    42
    great, so it's ok to flash back and forth different kernels as long as i do the two wipes each time?
     
  17. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    Yes. If I was you I will make a nand backup of ur current setup which I believe is Fresh with the stock Kernel right? This will save your ass down the road if you flash a Kernel that makes ur phone unstable, u can always flash the nand backup and it will put right where u @ right now.
     
  18. tracerit

    tracerit Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    42

    awww man, i missed that step. can i do a wipe caches, factory reset/reboot and then make a nand backup now, or is that too late that i've already applied the netarchy-toast kernel?

    if i restore a nand backup does that wipe my data also?

    i realy appreciate your help, i know i'm asking a bunch of noob questions lol :p
     
  19. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    Instead of doing all the wiping just grab the stock kernel from Fresh Updater if r on Fresh 3.2 it should be under tweaks,but before update ur server. After your done downloading the stock Kernel the phone will reboot on its own and will install it for you or you can skip all that by doing a nand backup with netarchys kernel which is pretty stable to.

    When you restore a nand backup you r restoring everything u had when the nand was made whatever u install after making that nand backup will be gone once u decide to restore that nand.
     
    tracerit likes this.
  20. tracerit

    tracerit Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    42
    cool thanks, so it's like a Restore Point on Windows. ok I'm set, time to reinstall all my apps. Thanks again exBBuser! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...