If I try to Root with the methods posted could I brick my phone?

Last Updated:

1. cuban11182

cuban11182 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Ok, so I've read over and over about the methods, but haven't tried it before. I do have a Mac, but it is bootcamped with Windows 7. I also have some laptops that have XP, Vista, and Windows 7, so I know I will have a computer that will be able to complete the task.

I guess my question is, if I start the process, what is/are the chance(s) that I brick my phone?

Thanks for your help.

Advertisement
  2. Asterdroid

Asterdroid Well-Known Member

Now take what I'm saying with a grain of salt, because I am by no means an expert, but I believe the only way you can truly "brick" a phone, as in damage it irreversibly, is to flash (install) an incompatible radio onto the phone.

That has nothing to do with gaining root access. All you're doing is applying an update that grants you super user access.

3. cuban11182

Can anyone else confirm Asterdroid's thought?

4. tudmf

tudmf Well-Known Member

I concur with Asterdroid. I suppose once you get into recovery, you could really screw it up if you did not follow the instructions and entered a command that wiped the phone (You would have to know "malicious" commands though). I wouldn't sweat it, but there is always a chance of something going wrong. The odds of ill effects taking place are very slim if you follow the guide, besides you have to be able to get into recovery first. Good Luck.

* Only do it if you feel comfortable, weigh the benefits. For me it was a no brainer, but it may be pointless for many.

5. iowabowtech

iowabowtech root@android:/ #