If im rooted and want to update F/W


Last Updated:

  1. bword

    bword Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just wondering still learning here. Ive rooted my phone and install the UTB custom rom. Now say I want to the OTA f/w update. Do I need to unroot it and somehow put back on my original ROM? Or will updating the firmware override everything on it and Ill lose the root and UTB anyways?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    118
    It depends on the dev and what he/she did. They can have it set up to where their ROM blocks any OTA updates. Some may have it where it allows it, and gives you the choice on whether to accept it and risk losing root or not. There's also manual updates as well.....just got search for it.
     
  3. bword

    bword Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well my device is a samsung captivate, firmware 2.1, and IDK if my rom allows it or not. I did root it using the one click exe. I just want to know
    1. Will it erase my custom rom and the rooting?
    2. Will it brick my phone is update while its rooted and running a custom rom (unleash to beast to be exact)?
     
  4. picklesNICKLES

    picklesNICKLES Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm just throwing this out there....seems you have unleash the beast and 1 click lag fix. I am running the exact same setup on my phone and I can't get the OTA update to work at all...currently working on what my options are...
     
  5. ryandelman

    ryandelman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    42
    Same here....
    I click on "Update" under Settings and keep getting the response "No Firmware".
     
  6. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    118
    You guys can flash the stock ROM update manually.....you guys want JH7 right?
     
  7. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    118
    No, if you overwrite a current ROM it won't brick your phone.... It'll just put a new one on it. I have the latest update from Samsung rooted and stuff, so no you won't lose root if you flashed it....

    But yes it will erase your custom ROM.....I'll be releasing a ROM soon, I need some BETA testers....before I make the release.....
     
  8. derande

    derande Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Try Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > Menu button/Filter/All > Device Management > Clear Data / Clear Cache

    worked for me.
     
    ryandelman likes this.
  9. Reversesunset

    Reversesunset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had the same problem with the "No Firmware" issue. Tried clearing data and cache, and was able to update, but then got an error after it restarted my phone, and it was unable to complete the update.
     
  10. bword

    bword Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    6
    well im gonna try out the 2.2 update...currently removing OCLF and Im gonna attempt to put on the stock rom and then unroot
     

Share This Page

Loading...