If you do not want to root, but want to speed up your hero.


Last Updated:

  1. ranchero

    ranchero Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've noticed that when i switch from htc sense to the original android home, that my hero speeds up quite a bit. I think this is because that htc did not quite make htc sense like other android apps. Have you ever heard of apps that have a leak? I think that is what htc sense is.
     

    Advertisement
  2. NovaFox238

    NovaFox238 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    39
    Of course Sense UI will use up a small amount of memory more than the plain Android OS, but I will never give up the fact that, Sense UI = secksy. =X
     
  3. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    Hero without Sense??? Noooooo...

    It's just not a hero then, lol, Sense UI is what makes it unique. Of course with the Sense overhead gone it will work differently. Anyway, there are some other steps and tweaks that can be done to enhance your interaction with the phone and increase battery performance without removing the HERO experience, just check the threads here.

    Happy Trails...

    :cool:
     
  4. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    What are those tweaks?!
     
  5. mbell75

    mbell75 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    77
    Another tip to pick up some speed is to trash that class 2 SD card that comes with the Hero. Get a class 6, you will notice a difference for sure. I agree, the Hero without Sense would be crap. I dont even like the Nexus One because vanilla Android is just so boring to look at, even the icons look like crap. I will sacrifice some speed for the Sense.
     
  6. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    How do you turn off sense? Also, mebll, wheres the video on youtube of your phone rooted? I want to see if I can notice a speed increase in the video. I'm thinking of rooting mainly to speed up my phone. My keyboard lags too much for me.
     
  7. mbell75

    mbell75 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    77
    Not rooted, its all stock :)

    Playing with my HTC Hero on Vimeo
     
  8. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    37
  9. wmillion

    wmillion Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    My son turned off my Sensi UI. Can someone tell me how to switch it back?
     
  10. shulkman

    shulkman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    @mbell...

    I noticed during the video (I believe it was the second screen to the left of home) you had what appeared to be contacts with large pictures and was wondering what you did to get those. Thanks
     
  11. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    There are a few that have made the lag disappear and extend battery life.
    Turn off the haptic feedback is one, turning off the auto updating in the weather/clock settings is another, checking your e-mail D/L frequency and one or two others I don't remember... lol Don't despair, they are all here, just do a little research and you will find them.


    :cool:
     
  12. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nothing runs off the SD card. How can a fast SD card possibly speed up the phone? The SD card is for data storage only, so yea, a faster card will make saving pictures or viewing pictures faster, but it will not effect the phones performance.
     
  13. EgeBamyasi

    EgeBamyasi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you haven't found out already here you go:

    First I found out that the way described in some of the online tutorials to re-enable Sense didn't work for me: When going to 'Home' under 'manage applications' the 'clear contents' button wasn't highlighted to restore back to Sense. I panicked!

    But I simply rebooted and when the phone came back up, it asked what I want to use to perform this operation with (Sense or Home). chose Sense and so far, so good.

    Didn't really play with it much in the Home (Vanilla) mode. Didn't immediately notice any real speed differences but may play with it later again and see...
     
  14. SamXp

    SamXp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    53
    Wow, it really is quite a bit faster. I might try this for a few days
     
  15. neversatisfied

    neversatisfied Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    10
    I noticed it when i switched to Home on accident. I was surprised and it kinda felt more organized with 3 screens than 7 considering nobody really needs 7 unless they want eye candy on their phone. And i am pretty sure the HTC Widgets dont help the lag at all either.

    Try using Sense UI with ONLY Android widgets. See if that helps any. Even tho the HTC widgets are wicked awesome, i hate sacrificing them. And nobody out there is creating good widgets besides for Beautiful Widgets who are basically basing theirs off of HTC.

    WE NEED MORE WIDGET CREATORS!!! :p
     
  16. mbell75

    mbell75 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    77
    Wrong. Do a Google search and see how many people have reported their phones speed increasing by upgrading to a class 6 card. Here is just one comment on it from Engadget...

    "A lot of users have reported less sluggishness when upgrading the micro SD memory card from the slower, 1-2 GB memory card provided with the phone. Buying a faster memory card will eliminate a great deal of the UI choppiness. I recommend spending a few extra bucks on adding some gigabytes at the same time as you’ll quickly run out of space."
     
  17. dmm5157

    dmm5157 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    14
  18. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  19. mbell75

    mbell75 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    77

    Yea whatever dude. Tons of people posting about it on a bunch of different forums and blogs and tech sites are all just making it up. You are clueless.
     
  20. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    You post speculation and rumors without any technical data, but I am clueless. :eek:

    Android does not rely on anything that is stored on the SD card. Therefore, a slow card or fast card will not effect the function of the OS.

    Remove your card and try it out.

    Now if you find some actual data that details that Android does indeed require the SD card, what functions it requires it for, and how a fast card can benefit the OS, then post that. If not, you are just fluffing your post count.

    The Placebo effect is an actually factual effect, but it is based on personal opinion. That is what people are posting about. Without any scientific data (something that can be repeated and measured) it is speculation.

    Edit: You posted this as a response to how to speed up your hero without rooting. I am refuting your post so people don't wast money on a faster card as they will not see a speed increase.
     
  21. mbell75

    mbell75 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    77
    Are you really that ignorant. You want a freebie? Photos are stored in your SD card. Most everyone assigns photos for their contacts. Guess what happens when you go to dial that contact? Their PHOTO shows up and if their photo is on a SLOW SD card, guess what happens to the dialer as it goes to load that photo?

    There are MANY parts of the Sense UI that use the SD card to pull info. The people at Engadget and all the users who have reported better response times with a faster card arent just imaging things. As I said, you are clueless.
     
  22. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, looking at the quality of the opinions you post, you are correct, I am clueless.
     
  23. armandov99

    armandov99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    Back to the original topic, I just did this yesterday because I wondered if it'd be faster. I have rooted, ROM'd and overclocked but NOTHING made the phone faster than killing Sense UI. It's like killing Aero on Vista on an old machine.

    It was very nice, I miss all the widgets, but the phone was simply slow even after tweaking (downright irritating without the tweaks). Now it feels like a phone again.

    I miss it, but I'm much happier with a device that's this speedy than with Sense UI at the old speed.
     
  24. doublebullout

    doublebullout Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    I suppose it's worth a try to see if it speeds things up for other users, but I noticed no significant speed increase from not using SenseUI. YMMV.

    When you assign a photo to a contact, the thumbnail becomes part of the contact record. Contact records are not stored on the SD card. Same thing with photos for contacts that you've linked to Facebook. The Facebook photo is not stored on the SD card.
     
  25. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yea noticed that when I actually tested this by removing my SD card. My contacts still had pictures that were assigned from my SD card.

    But I am an clueless and ignorant. Maybe someone should take a minute and test their freebies before them hand them out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...