If your X is stuck in a bootloop you want to look here!!!


Last Updated:

  1. BringTheRain403

    BringTheRain403 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    46
    Hello everyone! I may have some good news for some of you who are stuck in a boot loop on your X. I was stuck in one as well and I was able to fix it. I'll outline the steps I took. I can't guarantee anything except for that it worked for me.

    Download this file and rename it "Update.zip" and place it on your SD card.

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=LWZE5M71

    Here's my time line of events...

    1. Rooted my X

    2. Removed Bloatware

    3. Got scared that it would screw things up when it looked for a future update so I tried to put everything back. During this step BEFORE I got the opportunity to set permissions I got stuck in the dreaded boot loop.

    4. Did a factory reset in recovery

    5. Wiped the cache recovery

    6. Put the update.zip file on my SD card

    7. applied Update.zip file in recovery

    8. no more brick!!!

    For those of you stuck in the boot loop it's worth a try. I lost root but that's a small price to pay to get everything working again!

    Hope this helps at least a few of you and if it works please remember to thank me!

    Rich
     

    Advertisement
    eulerphi8 and 91STT like this.
  2. majorcovert

    majorcovert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    15
    you didn't have any issues with the Update.zip being digitally signed?
     
  3. ICanCin2U

    ICanCin2U Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    8
    The update is digitally signed, however the problem is when the bloatware is not replaced before applying the update.zip, therefore it will not work, it gets to the 1st bloatware missing and fails!!! So, this will not work, unless bloatware is replaced prior to going into the bootloop. :(
     
  4. BringTheRain403

    BringTheRain403 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    46

    In my case I had put all the bloatware back abd during the process of setting the permissions it froze up and started boot looping...
     
  5. majorcovert

    majorcovert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    15
    can you load the file back to the website
     
  6. majorcovert

    majorcovert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    15
    Fixed. Found another file. Either way your instruction were a life saver.
     
  7. BringTheRain403

    BringTheRain403 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    46
    updated
     
  8. Dulaney22

    Dulaney22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hopefully we can get one soon with the original firmware loaded. This one doesn't help if you have renamed or deleted files.
     
  9. eulerphi8

    eulerphi8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    21
    lifesave, thank you so much.
     
  10. BringTheRain403

    BringTheRain403 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    46
    Glad this is working for a few of you!
     
  11. chkmate

    chkmate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a big question for you. I'm a new DX owner and thought I would tamper with rooting. Well, root and unroot isn't my problem. Uninstalling CityID with Titanium Backup and not backing it up is my problem. I did a full system restore thinking that would work and it didn't. Please help. Sounds like your very knowledgeable in this area. They say I will need this for the 2.2 update. So I'm kinda stressing. Sorry for the book:)
     
  12. BringTheRain403

    BringTheRain403 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    46
    Do you have root explorer?
     
  13. drewlaqua

    drewlaqua New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem chkmate has and I do have root explorer. Will the update.zip file bring me back to factory settings with all of the bloatware?
     
  14. chkmate

    chkmate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    How do you get the zip file to stay in that format so I can move it over to SD. I'm so lost, please help.
    I deleted CityID with Titanium Backup with out actually backing it up. I did a system recovery to out of box state but still missing that bloatware.
     
  15. chkmate

    chkmate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes I have root explorer. And I think so drewlaqua. But I can't seem to save the update.zip file anywhere unless I unzip it. But then it isn't a single file.:eek:
     
  16. chkmate

    chkmate Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oops, replied on the wrong post. Yes I have root explorer.
     
  17. BringTheRain403

    BringTheRain403 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    46
    Connect the phone to your computer with the USB cable and either set it to PC mode or Disk Drive and drag and drop the update.zip file onto your SD card. reboot into recovery and select install update.zip.

    This ill notwork unless you have all the bloatware installed
     
  18. tr33s

    tr33s New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0

    first off i would like to say thanks for all the great help but im still having one problem im in the recovery boot and i try to load from sd and i get the error "failed to read footer from /sdcard/update.zip" any pointers i would love any help and is there any way to charge a phone during boot loops...
     
  19. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,201
    Likes Received:
    2,090
    you cannot charge phone during bootloops, have it turned off then charge to help your battery out, and an easier way to get out of boot loop is to home your home button and power, once you see the device power on let go of power but continue to hold home

    once you see the droid exclamation point hit your search key

    from there wipe data/factory reset

    then reboot, it may take a bit but it will come back up, usually takes a long bootload. but dont sweat, it can take up to 5 minutes, some devices pending lol. if you have any other problems dont hesitate to ask. that and this topic is a year old :p
     
    tr33s likes this.
  20. tr33s

    tr33s New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i know its old but im in a heep ton of crap i need my phone like yesterday i tried the factory reset and boot and got nothing i have a error from the beginning saying "E:cant open /cache/recovery/command please help
     
  21. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,201
    Likes Received:
    2,090
    do you know what SBFing is??

    its a quick and simple process that takes 10 minutes.

    quick overview google search RSD Lite 4.9

    download the current Motorola Drivers.

    get the full sbf file of 2.3.340

    here is the link that has the sbf file
    U D G
    your going to need to browse it, im at work and cannot view the page

    after rsd lite and moto drivers are installed
    reboot pc, (you should always reboot after you install programs)

    MAKE SURE YOUR PHONE HAS AT LEAST 60% BATTERY LEFT!
    -then open rsd lite in administrator mode(win 7, vista) if your on xp just open it
    -then locate the sbf file you downloaded, i suggest once you download it, you move it to your desktop in a folder, named Droid X Stock or move it somewhere you can always find it
    -then cut your phone off
    -while holding vol down, camera, push the power button til the screen flashes
    -your now in the bootloader screen, connect your cable to your pc from your phone
    -hit show device if you want, but make sure there is a device there, hit start, it takes about 5 mins or so
    -then your phone will begin to reboot
    -once you see the Moto M, remove the battery, and then put it back in
    -then hold down the Home button and Power button
    -once its turning on, let go of power, but continue to hold the Home button, until you see a droid with the exclamation point.
    -hit search button
    -scroll down using volume rockers to wipe data/factory reset, and hit yes
    and then do the same with wiping cache
    -then reboot your phone
    and your done


    if you need more help please let me know, this process takes roughly 10 minutes or less. and your phone will be completely stock
     
    tr33s likes this.
  22. tr33s

    tr33s New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    you have been so far the most helpfull person on the interwebs... i unfortunatly cant tell you if it has worked yet cause im waiting to barrow another x to charge my battery but once i do you have saved my life... thanks..
     
  23. SimsDelt

    SimsDelt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    246
    I would do what VoidedSaint said... just SBF to fix all this confusions. It would be much easier.
     
    VoidedSaint likes this.
  24. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,201
    Likes Received:
    2,090
    yeah sbfing is the way to go :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...