I'm confused my contactsSupport


Last Updated:

  1. mclovin420

    mclovin420 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just got my first Droid device (Droid X) and I switched from ATT to Verizon. They told me the contacts from my SIM would be uploaded to my google account. When I click the contact app, I see just the stock contacts they give you (Directory Assistance and whatnot). When I click menu-> search from the contacts app, I see all my missing contacts. Why do I have to hit search to see all of them? Shouldn't they be visible from my Gmail account?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Sigh... This is not your fault (I'm not sighing at you) but rather the misinformed rep.

    When you create a contact you can create it as a phone contact or a google contact. Typically when transferring numbers such as Verizon probably did for you, they did them as phone contacts.

    That being said, you can probably sync them to your computer and export them to google (thus making them google contacts).


    Not owning a Droid X, I can't tell you the easiest or best way to do this.
     
  3. mclovin420

    mclovin420 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    anyone care to explain how to sync my phone contacts with my google contacts? btw, when I do, should they be visible from gmail?
     
  4. Sek0n

    Sek0n Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    23
    On my DInc, it auto synced my contacts and google contacts together I thought. (didnt have to on my DX cause all were already on google.)

    I'm looking around, but make sure this is checked: Settings > Accounts > (your gmail account) > Sync Contacts

    Those should all be checked. If that doesn't do it like Kelmar says I donno. I'll look around though.
     
  5. mclovin420

    mclovin420 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah it is checked.
     
  6. droidSPARX

    droidSPARX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    14
  7. Sek0n

    Sek0n Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    23
    When I had an iPhone, I used that as well, droidSPARX. If you did it correctly, and it synced with google, it should sync with it. Check your gmail account to see if the calendar and contacts actually synced to it.

    mclovin, all I found so far is this: Google contacts and SIM card sync
    Went through all the options I could think of, and saw no import settings for it.
     
  8. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Is there an option in the main contact listing to export your contacts as a vcard?

    If so, do that. Then delete all your contacts and import them back to your phone as google contacts. This worked on the Incredible.
     
  9. mclovin420

    mclovin420 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
  10. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Not really sure what you're showing there.
     
  11. mclovin420

    mclovin420 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you have a droid x? No contacts show in the contact app but they all show up when I hit search...
     
  12. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Please try to keep your queries in the same thread...

    Go to contacts, hit menu -> Display Group. Select all contacts.
     
  13. mclovin420

    mclovin420 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    That does nothing. same problem exists
     
  14. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    What happens if you select a specific group (gmail or phone)?
     
  15. mclovin420

    mclovin420 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Phone shows just Me and voicemail Google shows nothing.

    The problem is all my contacts are listed as "contacts" not "Google" and not "Phone Contacts"
     

Share This Page

Loading...