I'm having permissions problems on a rooted Droid..


Last Updated:

  1. tfm217

    tfm217 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    I upgraded to a Bugless Beast 0.4 to get a 2.2 Rom and I flashed a Chevyno1 1.2ghz kernel earlier today. The problems didn't come immediately, but I found that Titanium Backup didn't recognize my phone as rooted. Said I needed 'Busybox". But the download failed for some reason (the message said it could have been because the application failed when trying to remount?).

    I've found that some things that used to work no longer do. The terminal emulator won't allow me super user priveleges (typing 'su' and whatnot) but the phone is definitely rooted. Any idea what's up?
     

    Advertisement
  2. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    When trying to use an app that requires root, are you getting a message asking you to allow Su?
     
  3. tfm217

    tfm217 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, I tried using SetCPU a couple minutes ago, and it has a popup telling me to expect another window asking me for root access, the other window never pops up, and the app restarts, without giving me the ability to change the CPU speed. :(

    Typing su into the terminal emulator gives me a 'permission denied' response.
     
  4. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    It kinda sounds to me like your not rooted at all.. How do you know you are? When you open your app tray, is there a little ninja app that's in there?
     
  5. tfm217

    tfm217 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah I do.
     
  6. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Hmmm.. I think you should try to reroot your Droid, there is apps that can do it for you now, easy root, and universal androot. I'd try that, and if that don't fix the problem, reflash the Rom.
     
  7. tfm217

    tfm217 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, Easy Root claims the phone is already rooted
     
  8. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Sometimes that app glitches. Try the other one.
     
  9. kenbdSi

    kenbdSi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am having the same identical issues immediately after downloading bb v.4.
     
  10. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
  11. kenbdSi

    kenbdSi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1

Share This Page

Loading...