I'm stuck rooting


Last Updated:

  1. amandahbell

    amandahbell New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I am blessed with unlimited data on my plan and therefore use my as a hotspot at home. Well my thunderbolt died last week and I got the Strat as a BOGO. So, I'm trying to get thing rooted so my hubby can get back online; however, I'm stuck and can't figure out what the heck is going on. I'm in no way a developer, but I can usually figure these things out.

    I'm using the directions from rootzwiki.

    I get to the "You are now sporting a working insecure kernel ready for rooting!"

    My phone reboots. I turn on the Debugging. Go back to the command window and type in "adb devices" and it comes back with "'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file."

    What do I do now? Is my phone supposed to be in USB mode (which turns off the debugging for some reason). Is it supposed to be in download mode?
     

    Advertisement
  2. alpha0990

    alpha0990 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    61
    Have you installed Android SDK? If so, either add android to the Command Prompt's path, or after opening the Command Prompt, change directory to android\platform-tools

    correction >> Android\android-sdk\platform-tools

    Or you can use a great little utility called Drop To DOS
     
    amandahbell likes this.
  3. amandahbell

    amandahbell New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have SDK.exe in this folder:
    C:\Users\XXX\Desktop\To Root\heimdall\android-sdk-windows

    I mapped to the platform tools folder and now it stopped showing the bad command, but now it isn't showing the phone under "list of devices attached" even though it is showing up on "My Computer" now.
     
  4. alpha0990

    alpha0990 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    61
    Seems that is a common problem for those of us who use Windows! Lol.

    If you haven't installed a Samsung driver, you could go to Samsung's website, download and install Kies. That will install the driver.
     
    amandahbell likes this.
  5. amandahbell

    amandahbell New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. alpha0990

    alpha0990 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    61
    youre welcome
     

Share This Page

Loading...