1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Images and Videos And IconsTips


Last Updated:

  1. ajwconsult

    ajwconsult Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well.. that was a cool trick....

    I installed F1 Timing, which has loads of images in the program...

    When i browse by photo album, they are all included...

    SO.....

    I creaded a file in the root of the folder called .nomedia
    now the images/video data in that folder and subdirectories are not included in the gallery....

    Cool....
     

    Advertisement
  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,222
    Looks cool enough for the Tips and Tricks sub-forum, ajwconsult. ;)

    You are saying that the media now defaults to that new folder, and now you can move pics from there to Gallery if/when you want to?
     
  3. ajwconsult

    ajwconsult Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    7
    hello,

    no me saying that by creating that file in a directory it will not include any picture or music or videos if found within the gallery

    i found it a pain when all the directories are searched by GALLERY to include all pics found, now only looks in the folder i want it to look in by either not having the .nomedia file in there or having it in there..

     
  4. Kibbster

    Kibbster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    55
    How do you create a .nomedia file?

    Windows doesn't like creating files with no file names.
     
  5. SiHa

    SiHa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    81
    You need a Linux - based OS like, um, ooh I dunno - Android?;)

    I use ES File Explorer from the Marketplace. Open it up, navigate to the required location for the file then:
    Menu -> New -> File, name it .nomedia, and you're done!
     
    Kibbster likes this.
  6. Kibbster

    Kibbster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    55
    Thanks I'll give it a go.
     

Share This Page

Loading...