IMAP Client Doesn't Delete Messages

1. miles120

miles120 New Member

I am new to the Android platform, getting my Droid X yesterday. I had no trouble setting up four mailboxes, and am sending and receiving mail seamlessly.

There is one bizarre thing: if I read a message on my phone, the IMAP client sets the flag on the server as 'read', but if I delete the message on the Droid it is left on the server (and all my other IMAP clients.) Has anyone noticed this? I can't find a setting that would effect this behavior.

Oh, I update my mail every 15 minutes, but the problem persists even after a manual refresh.

Advertisement
    :
  2. lunatic59

lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum Moderator

Go to your mail account settings for the IMAP account and select incoming server settings. Change "Delete mail from server" from "Never" to "When I delete from inbox."
  3. miles120

miles120 New Member

Unfortunately, the UI doesn't have that setting in the Accounts section.
  4. jwbtx

jwbtx New Member

5. miles120

miles120 New Member

Thanks JWB, I'll give K9 a look. It seems to be pretty popular.
  6. jamadza

jamadza Active Member

K9 deletes messages from gmail servers but you have to go to Account settings ---- Incoming server ---- scroll to Trash folder name and set it to "Gmail/Trash". From then on, when you delete a message in K9, it will be moved to Gmail/Trash (Trash folder on Gmail server).
  7. macemt

macemt New Member