• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help IMAP Synch Problems

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Android, and new to the forum. I've had my HTC One for several months now. I love the phone and I'm having a blast with it so far.

My biggest challenge is that the native mail app doesn't synch my IMAP folders properly. Messages I read and delete from other devices (PC, iPad) remain as unread messages in my INBOX. I can't access any of the personal folders I've created on the IMAP server, and messages I send from other devices do not show up in my Android SENT folder.

I've been searching like crazy to see if a solution exists, but I can't find anything. Am I doing something wrong? Thanks!

Thanks,

I was hoping for a solution so I could keep using the native mail app, but oh well... I installed K@ Mail and all the IMAP issues are gone. I think K@ is experiencing some stability issues, the app closed unexpectedly a few times on me. I think that's why they are offering it for free right now. Other than that, I really like what they are trying to do with the mail client. Very nice interface, and highly configurable.

I'm surprised the native client is such a major fail, but K@ seems to be a good alternative.

Upvote 0
I've just bought the HTC one and am having trouble with the stock mail app. All accounts set up ok but I keep getting a connection timeout error. It manages to sync new emails but when I open them it won't display anything.
It doesn't make any difference whether I'm on 3g or wifi.
I've tried with another mail client (mail. Com) and this works fine so I don't think the phone is faulty. Problem is I need to have exchange support and I haven't been able to get that to work with anything apart from the stock app as there is some kind of security policy imposed by the email host.
I've tried a factory reset and it didn't help.