Improve your Call QualityTips


Last Updated:

  1. CaptJager

    CaptJager Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    254
    Original post was by EJHART at ##Droidincredible over on freenode.net .

    I claim NO credit for this. Just letting you all know.
    I can confirm it made a huge different for me.

    1. Go to Phone and Dial ##778
    2. Choose Edit Mode
    3. Password is 000000
    4. Go to CDMA Settings
    5. Scroll all the way to bottom
    6. Change Home Page, Home Orig, and Roam Orig from EVRC to EVRC-B
    7. Hit Menu and Commit Changes

    Phone reboots and walla no more muffed voice calls!
     

    Advertisement
    tmarr, eyc, kjarrett and 6 others like this.
  2. TheGoatLantern

    TheGoatLantern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    471
    Thanks for bringing it over!!!
     
  3. Ainvar

    Ainvar Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trying it out now.
     
  4. lobug

    lobug Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    13
    tried this out.. what does "EVRC-B" even mean?

    will post results
     
  5. tkim6599

    tkim6599 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
  6. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    Its just an additional low bandwidth bitrate (1/4 rate @ 2kbit/s) audio codec not originally available in EVRC:

    Enhanced Variable Rate Codec B - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


    For a comparison, Vonage bitrates are:

    Low quality audio = 30kbit/s
    Med quality audio = 60kbit/s
    High quality audio = 90kbit/s

    It will basically allow for an additional level of call quality for respective signal strength...fills a void so to speak.
     
  7. Twiz

    Twiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    106
    ##778 seems to do nothing on my phone.
     
  8. mrchambo

    mrchambo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you tapping CALL after entering it?
     
  9. Twiz

    Twiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    106
    Yes. Wonder if it has something to do with call confirm.
     
  10. teufeltexan

    teufeltexan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    28

    It does. I had to remove call confirm to access the menu, then it worked fine.

    Although I didn't perform the "fix" above - just wanted to view the menu...
     
  11. Twiz

    Twiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    106
    Disabled call confirm and it worked. Performed the fix and it seems like its a bit better. Still not happy with the weak service i have at my house.
     
  12. DonDraper

    DonDraper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    30
    Be warned if you are in or end up in an area that doesn't support it, you may have some issues...
     
  13. albiewan

    albiewan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    33
    I'm curious..what is you average signal strength at your house? Not the bars, the actual strength in dBm (menu-settings-about phone-network). If your dBm is -90 or higher on a regular basis, then this might help: Cell Phone Antennas and Cell Phone Boosters at Wilson Electronics
     
  14. paimon.soror

    paimon.soror Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    76
    Sweet find, thanks for bringing it over. I will have to give this a shot and report back
     
  15. wase4711

    wase4711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    157
    seemed to help a bit; will make alot of calls tomorrow, and see what people think..
    lots of complaints up to this point about voice quality when I call other mobile phones..

    thanks for the tip!
     
  16. disciplined

    disciplined Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    8
    A little skeptical about this... Does it drain battery faster or hurt service in certain areas or incur additional charges? Why wouldn't verizon have this enabled?
     
  17. zeke88

    zeke88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    13
    i just did this trick, testing it tomorrow
     
  18. EclipsePTY

    EclipsePTY Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm curious about this.
    Will have to try it tomorrow.
     
  19. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    It only adds the 1/4 rate codec, set at 2kbit/s, to the existing Full, half, and 1/8 rate codecs. Given that the "Full rate" is 8kbit/s, its not really an improvement, so much as you get to use the 1/4 rate instead of the 1/8 rate, in a marginal signal area. In that instance, it would be an improvement. It may smooth things out as the radio may not have to struggle to get the signal from 1/8 to 1/2 rate, and can just settle in the middle at the 1/4 rate.
     
  20. paimon.soror

    paimon.soror Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    76
    I assume they didn't enable this out of the box because it isn't a standard yet. Probably to pass FCC they had to force revision A out of the box.
     
  21. Hipshot

    Hipshot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    27
    just did it.. .the jury is still out ...we will see.. :D
     
  22. Websurfer

    Websurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    24
    Found this mod elsewhere on the forum yesterday and did it.. Seems to have made a dramatic improvement to my INC call quality...
     
  23. Twiz

    Twiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    106

    -85 to -92 usually. Texting and such is fine. The call quality isnt that good, but then again i have a land line for calls. My daughter has the verizon network booster cause she lost calls all the time but now has great service.
     
    moptart likes this.
  24. veccster

    veccster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    54
    Can anyone explain or confirm this?

    I would like to do this but hate changing system settings that make things worse in the long-run.

    I also don't notice too poor of a signal but hate knowing that it COULD be better!
     
  25. upther

    upther Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    61
    I only really have issues talking to people who are using MetroPCS and Boost Mobile phones, other than that I'm fine. I did this last night and just got off the phone with my MetroPCS friend and the call really did sound much better. Now I'm really close to a tower at the moment so that could have been it too. I'll talk to her when I'm at home tonight and not that close to the tower and see how things sound.
     

Share This Page

Loading...