Inaccurate Eris CommercialGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. cheffern

    cheffern Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I have seen the new HTC Droid Eris commercial a few times and it seems to fudge the truth when using the HTC people widget. You can clearly see in the commercial someone clicking on a person from the HTC people widget. However, after they click the person it brings up the person's information, as opposed to performing the default action specified for the contact.

    From my tinkering with this widget, it seems that you cannot actually perform the action they show in the commercial.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Mortgage_It

    Mortgage_It Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    another thing i caught in the commercial was the status bar shows both wifi and 3g full signals at the same time. which of course does not happen.
     
  3. zantopad

    zantopad Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Actually the commercial is accurate... If you click the person's name in the people widget (right below their picture) it will open their information...
     
  4. Raziken

    Raziken Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I take it you're referring toThis Commercial?

    First off I'm going to say that Commercials have a limited time (15~60 seconds) to grab your attention, explain features, and get you to buy it. When you look at it from a marketing standpoint, this can be a daunting task, especially something as feature packed as an Android Phone.

    This is true, but in the commercial, they clearly select the picture.

    Typically when a commercial is made for a phone, they typically can't record directly from the phone so the images are digitally generated (maybe from the SDK, dunno.) and then replicated later on. The info bar was static, and the people menu was moving pretty fast.

    This was just a showcase of features, and not an accurate depiction. It even states that the screens were simulated.

    Main point: Don't take it to heart, it was simulated.
     
  5. zantopad

    zantopad Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for posting the commercial I couldn't remember exactly how they showed it. You are correct in that you cannot believe what is in the commercial because everything is either simulated or accelerated. This is true for any of the big phone commercials (iphone, droid, etc). I just wanted to make sure we were aware that the feature was available in case you wanted to use, albeit not quite how they show it in the commercial ;)
     
  6. Raziken

    Raziken Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, prior to your post, I didn't realize I could do that! :D

    A big part of selling a smartphone is speed, so if they accurately depicted some of these speeds when using the device, we may have less users. Not saying its slow, just it wouldn't be as impressive :p
     
  7. cheffern

    cheffern Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0

    Good catch! I hoped someone could figure this out!
     
  8. bjf88

    bjf88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    37
    I noticed that the first time I saw that commercial too! They really need to just fix the widget to do that. Or at least allow us to pick if we want to do an action or go to that contact's info.

    I also learned something new from the commercial, had no idea you could slide that bar back and forth like that.
     
  9. Gevis

    Gevis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    15
    In Cap n Crunch commercials, when you eat it your get to be cartoonized and get to hang out on a boat.
     
  10. MOS95B

    MOS95B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    19
    And McDonald's commercials make the food look good....

    Yeah, commercials aren't exzactly known to be 100% accurate.
     
  11. hrbib21

    hrbib21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    34
  12. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    Well, there is one instance where it actually does occur - when sending an MMS message you'll see 3G traffic momentarily, even though there is a connected WiFi network in use.

    [​IMG]


    That's not what was going on in the video, but it does happen.

    Normally, having a connection to a WiFi AP brings down the Mobile network "interface" (in the linux kernel, device "rmnet0:"); the messaging app brings it up temporarily when sending or retrieving MMS.

    eu1
     
  13. Mortgage_It

    Mortgage_It Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    wow, learned something new!
     
  14. SGM-CO

    SGM-CO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any way to change the people widget to a list instead of pictures? First off the pictures I have are syncing with FaceBook and they are all pix-elated and second I don't have pictures for all people and don't need my screen showing the default blank profile.

    Thanks
    SGM
     

Share This Page

Loading...