increase battery life by rooting?

Last Updated:

1. flipboi2damax

flipboi2damax Member This Topic's Starter

I am a complete noob at this stuff and was planning on using my samsung moment with stock android 2.1 but..........the battery life sucks. I'll be lucky if i get through a day with only two phone calls and a couple of texts. I was reading on these forums about how rooting can increase battery life on the moment, but how? can someone explain to me how? Oh and if i wanted to root my moment, would this be the easiest way? http://sdx-downloads.com/custom/

Advertisement
  2. edp

edp Well-Known Member

i'm no expert at this either, but i have done some messing around with my phone. when you root, you can take off all the apps that sprint loaded on ur phone that you can't remove without root, such as nascar, sprint tv, sprint nav, bejewled demo, etc. alll that bloatware can bog down ur phone.

there are several vids that show you how to root but i found this to be the most helpful one:
    http://androidforums.com/samsung-mo...t-2-1-rooting-video-walkthrough-tutorial.html

i know you said you have 2.1 but a reflash can't hurt. this vid will also show you how to put on one of joey's recoveries which is really nice because you can go into recovery and flash things directly from there, such as custom roms, custom themes, etc. and you can also back up ur system/data, which comes in handy if you messed around with ur phone and something goes wrong. you can always just reapply the backup and have ur phone back to where it was.

and if you use the sdx kitchen (that link you put up), adding one of the custom kernals (i really like littlejth's kernal) puts on numus' battery code, which is much better and more accurate than the one on ur phone right now.