incredible doesn't ring when phone asleep (not powered off)Support


Last Updated:

  1. rt2

    rt2 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yet another example of a question from someone feeling a bit "dim".

    My Incredible rings when there's a visible screen. When the screen darkens and phone enters sleep after , in my case 1 minute of non-use, any calls coming in do not ring through. Voicemail picks them up....but there is no indication that I have an incoming call unless I wake the phone up and check the upper left hand menu for the voicemail icon.

    This can't be set up right. When the phone is asleep (dark screen) but not powered off, there has got to be a setting that lets calls ring through and awaken the phone so it can be answered. Right?

    What have I missed?
     

    Advertisement
  2. rt2

    rt2 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Am I the only person that has this problem?

    Is this "normal" ?

    This s would mean that the phone would need to be fully active for the phone to ring. Is this is correct, then what's the point of dimming the screen and putting the phone to sleep or in standby mode?
     
  3. paimon.soror

    paimon.soror Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    76
    That is definately not normal. I am a new android user so I cant really say if thats an option, but my phone did not experience this behavior out of the box. If no one else comments you may want to consider an exchange, and test the new phone out at the store before you leave
     
  4. bsdbytes

    bsdbytes Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had this happen to me once but I have not been able to reproduce it. The only thing I've done that might have made a difference is I performed a factory restore.
     
  5. rt2

    rt2 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks all for your suggestions.

    Solved my problem by doing a soft reset (remove / replace battery) to my phone.

    Relieved that I didn't have to try the hard rest since I've just gotten everything set up the way I wanted it.

    Thanks again for the suggestions.
     
  6. Kimandrews123

    Kimandrews123 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same problem. I got my phone in November and the problems started either late December or early January. How do you remove/replace the battery?
     
  7. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,530
    There's a very narrow slot at the bottom of the phone about 1/2" long. Insert fingernail and gently pry the rear half of the case off to expose the battery. Pry out the battery, leave out for a minute or so, then replace battery and rear cover.
     
  8. jes0212

    jes0212 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    3
    At times, mine does the same thing.. I blame it on the service at my house but it even happens at the college campus. Anyone think it could possibly be a software issue as well?
     
  9. jeminar

    jeminar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this issue: I regularly swap SIMs and had both SIMs set up as APNs. As soon as I made sure that only the APN settings for my SIM were in place, the problem went away.

    Hope it doesn't come back.
     

Share This Page

Loading...