Individual RingtonesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. CastawayOz

    CastawayOz New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to set ringtones to specific contacts ?? I cannot for the life of me find on this phone .:cool:
     

    Advertisement
  2. EarlZ

    EarlZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    11

    Download an application called ringdriod
     
  3. Seifer

    Seifer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    You can't do it if your contacts are linked to your gmail account. You can only do it for contacts created in your phone. Sucks I know. If you find a way do let me know.
     
  4. EarlZ

    EarlZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    11
    Would that also include the contacts there were synced to my gmail account using exchange?
     
  5. Seifer

    Seifer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes
     
  6. EarlZ

    EarlZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    11
    Oh crap so that means I have to recreate all of my contacts manually to the SGS??
     
  7. Seifer

    Seifer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry, it can be done using ringdroid
     
  8. EarlZ

    EarlZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    11
    -wrong thread-
     
  9. Seifer

    Seifer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry I tried ring droid and it doesn't work. While the ringtone gets assigned to the contact, some how the phone still use the default ringtone when the contact called.

    The only way to do that is to create another contact in your phone with the exact same name as your gmail contact. Your phone will linked up these 2 into 1 contact. Then assign ringtone to the phone contact normally via Contacts
     
  10. DMobley232

    DMobley232 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is what you do to set an ringtone to an individual contact.
    1. People
    2. Find the person you are looking to assign an individual contact to and click on there name.
    3. Now before clicking on EDIT or anything else, just start scrolling towards the bottom and then under information you will see a section for Ringtone.
    4.Click on that and select your ringtone.
    5.I made the mistake of selecting the contact and then selecting EDIT, but that is too far to go, don't click on EDIT.

     
  11. Seifer

    Seifer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    This only works if your contacts are phone contacts, not if they are contacts synced with your gmail.
     
  12. DMobley232

    DMobley232 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    That would make sense as I don't have any contacts synced from gmail. All my contacts are either from exchange or my outlook on my home pc.

     
  13. EarlZ

    EarlZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    11
    What did use to sync to from your exchange ?


    @Seifer

    I might be using exchange and sync it to google contacts would that also NOT work ?
     
  14. James.Champion83

    James.Champion83 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    It didn't work for me....what am I doing wrong, I have been fighting with this since last night.
     
  15. Seifer

    Seifer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    It worked for me. Make sure that
    1. The 2 contacts are linked. When you view using contacts, you should only see 1 contact. When you click on it to see the details, it should tell you there are 2 linked contacts.
    2. You should also see the ring tone assigned in the details.
     
  16. hence.persson

    hence.persson New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a way to copy all google contacts to the telephone or must i manually do that??
     
  17. James.Champion83

    James.Champion83 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1

    Already tried that. Contact ringtones do not want to work. I even deleted the number from my Google account, and then made a new one on the phone, and tried to set a ringtone, no dice.

    I went to the Sprint store yesterday, and they disappeared with it for like 20 minutes in the back while I stood out front like a dick.
    They came back and said, "ok, it works now."
    They were wrong.
     
  18. James.Champion83

    James.Champion83 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    oh poop...i thought this was the EVO forum. sorry guys. I'm new here.
     

Share This Page

Loading...