Install APK installer without market


Last Updated:

  1. mpg187

    mpg187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is there a way to install Astro File manager without using the market? Because if I would need to install APKs in a situation where I don't have access to the market (No Internet access, etc.) I would need to use Astro File Manager and if I didn't have it installed I would need a way to install it without using the standard way of using the market...

    Plus, it would save me bandwidth to install it from the SD Card each time...
     

    Advertisement
  2. Chroma

    Chroma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    25
    Settings>Applications> check "unknown sources"

    In astro, there is a backup tool that will backup all your installed applications to your sd card. To restore a app from astro, you'll need the above setting activated anyways. But why would you have astro not installed anyways?
     
  3. mpg187

    mpg187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    I can install APKs with Astro, but I am saying if I didn't have it installed and didn't have a network connection.

    The reason I ask is say if I format my phone (When I updated it last time it deleted all my apps and settings, so luckily I had my APKs on my Micro SD).
     
  4. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    Are you wanting to root? Is that why you are needing to save the actual apk to the SD card?
     
  5. Eazail70x7

    Eazail70x7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    108
    I want to know also how to install my apk's without Astro cause when I upgraded my Moment to 2.1, my market showed up as empty and I had no way of installing my apps because I needed to install astro (or titanium backup) first.

    Eventually I figured out a way to get the market to show apps but if I didn't, I was screwed.
     
  6. mpg187

    mpg187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
  7. Swizz

    Swizz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    95
    If you have the apk on your desktop, you can use adb to install the package via the install feature of adb.
     
  8. mpg187

    mpg187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    Does that require root access? I don't know much about ADB, I Googled and it said it was some kinda debugging thing...
     
  9. Swizz

    Swizz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    95
    No, it does not require root. The only thing you need to do, on the phone end, with adb is ensure USB debugging is activated under the Applications settings(this may vary depending on phone model).
     
  10. mpg187

    mpg187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    What do you run on the computer side?
     
  11. Swizz

    Swizz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    95
    adb. You download the latest version with the Android SDK provided by Google.
     

Share This Page

Loading...