Install MY apps from SDCARD...HOW?Support

Last Updated:

1. GTbrewer

GTbrewer Well-Known Member

I'm just getting into app development, and cannot get the virtual device working on my
    computer (and it would seem that nobody can tell me why). I am, therefore, trying to
    install stuff I've written (so far, just Hello World, but I have other things in mind, too)
    from the SDcard, but the phone tells me that *MY* app is from an untrusted source,
    and cannot be installed. I trust myself. How do I bypass this insanity?

Thanks.

Advertisement
  2. Xyro

Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

You need to go to Settings >> Applications and tick Unknown Sources. Then you should be able to install any .apk.
  3. GTbrewer

Ok, I have these under Applications:

Manage applications
    Running services
    Development
    Double tap home launch

Under Development, I have the following:

USB debugging (checked)
    Stay awake
    Allow mock locations (checked)

I'm still getting the same error message. There HAS to be a way...or AT&T is going
    to get an earfull from me......
  4. Xyro

Well, the option has always been there on the firmwares I've tried, but I've never used a Moto Blur device. I think you're best off waiting for the response of another Bravo owner.
  5. GTbrewer

Ok, thanks...I'll do that. While you're here, is there a forum for asking questions (e.g.,
    my question about trying and failing to get the AVD working---it does one of four
    things: 1) disconnects; 2) drives the CPU to 100%; 3) hasn't loaded Hello World
    after several hours, or 4) gets close (loads HOME, displays an error about not having
    a network connection, and then the console says it failed to load the apk)? Specifically,
    a forum where newbies are more welcome? I've noticed that a lot of people have READ
    my questions, but nobody has answered. I'm starting to wonder if maybe I should be on
    another forum, e-mail list, Usenet newsgroup, or (?).......

Suggestions?