Install non update.zip


Last Updated:

  1. mroien

    mroien Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you install a file that is not an update.zip file from your SD card? I booted into recovery and their is no option for apply ROM from SD or anything like that. Do you have to rename all your files to update.zip to run them. I only have 4 options in the recovery screen it there another recovery screen with more options? I'm running clockwork 2.5
     

    Advertisement
  2. zetterwing

    zetterwing Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    There should be a choice to install zip from sd in clockwork. Is your recovery screen green or blue? If it is blue then you're not in clockwork.
     
  3. mroien

    mroien Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using clockworkmod 2.5.1 and when I boot into recovery I only have 4 options and non of them are install zip from SD I had the hero before and used to switch ROMs all the time but there. Yes I am in blue when I reboot from ROM manager how do I change that. It says in ROM manager that I am running clockworkmod but it look like I'm not when I go into recovery.
     
  4. Bomix

    Bomix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    14
    I had the same issue with using a recovery widget,
    YOu want to turn off your phone.

    Then to get into clockwork, HOld Vol down + Camera + power button.
    wait for green screen showing clock work.. you should be able to install from SD there

    I have to do this also. it's not a big deal,
     
  5. unknown zone

    unknown zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    like bomix stated, to get into clockwork green screen the manual way, vol down...etc, the rom widget does not work but there is a fix for it. Just go manual and you will be fine.
     
  6. zetterwing

    zetterwing Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    I reinstalled clockwork from within rom manager and then applied the update.zip it puts on the sd card. After that I was unable to launch clockwork through rom manager.
     
  7. Othan1

    Othan1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    26
    If you're using the original clockwork one click, then it is possible that at each reboot, the phone is restoring the original recovery. Since the DRM install update (forget the designation), they installed a new "recovery check" to see if you're using stock or a modified one and will reinstall recovery at each reboot.

    Make sure you have the latest recovery installer and make sure if you're using the one click method that the batch file has this code in it:

    echo remove stock recovery patcher
    adb shell mount -t rfs -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
    adb shell rm /system/etc/install-recovery.sh
    adb shell rm /system/recovery-from-boot.p

    Otherwise you'll never get it into Clockwork.
     
  8. mroien

    mroien Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried to reboot into recovery manually and I still get the blue screen and when I run install update.zip it runs about half the program and installation failed.
     
  9. bchalker

    bchalker New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am have a problem also. The phone is rooted but I am getting the signature file verification error when running update.zip.

    Do I need to unlock bootloader and if how do I do this? Sorry i this a noob question but I can find it anywhere.
     

Share This Page

Loading...