Install Stock Android on Captivate?


Last Updated:

  1. rcllcr

    rcllcr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey Everyone,

    Is it possible to just install stock Android 2.2 on the Captivate or any phone for that matter. Like if you do not want touchwiz or At&t bloatware. If so, will you be able to update it continually over the air, or to get the newest release must you plug it into your computer each time.

    Thank you!
     

    Advertisement
  2. ADPowah

    ADPowah Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    5
    rcllcr likes this.
  3. rcllcr

    rcllcr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
  4. ADPowah

    ADPowah Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well froyo is 2.2. I haven't altered my captivate though, but here is a video and explanation (so maybe it works, maybe it doesn't).

    How To: Load a Custom ROM on the Samsung Captivate / Vibrant | TheUnlockr

    You'll also want to find a rom that you want to use...

    Anyways 2.2 will be issued by Samsung/ATT at the end of September and you could just wait for that. (that's what i am going to do)
     
    rcllcr likes this.
  5. rcllcr

    rcllcr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    What exactly is a "ROM"? Are there multiple ones you can get for each phone that contain different features and tweaks?
     
  6. ADPowah

    ADPowah Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    5
    ROM (while it stands for Read Only Memory) is typically used synonymously as Operating System. Yes there are multiple versions (you could even create your own (not that it would be easy)) for each phone and yes they have their pros and cons.
     
    kidsavior and rcllcr like this.
  7. iPenguin

    iPenguin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    20
    ROM is short for Read Only Memory. It is, in a really basic kind of way, the image of your phone. It is the OS in a sense. Want windows mobile on your phone? Get a windows mobile ROM. Android 2.2 because you can and you want it? Get an Android 2.2 ROM.

    ROMs are pieces of an OS that has been hacked together, taken apart, modified to include whatever features are desired. Depending on the developing community of your phone, you can have little-to-none ROMs, or all you'll ever need. Considering the Galaxy S is a world phone, I'm sure the Captivate will have a huge developer base and therefore more ROMs in the future.

    EDIT:
    Beaten to the Falcon Pawnch by AD. :p
     
    rcllcr and ADPowah like this.
  8. keredini

    keredini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    15
    Also, don't confuse 'stock' (or sometimes referred to as 'vanilla') Android (whether it is 2.1. or 2.2) with the thread I started that ADPowah referenced. That ROM that I flashed is the i9000 European ROM, but it is still the Samsung Galaxy S ROM. Meaning Samsung saw fit to add some apps out of the box on it. AT&T decided to scrap most (if not all) of those and put their own bloatware on it. Trust me, you would rather have the Samsung apps than the AT&T apps. I'm going to update that thread with the apps that are on the i9000 ROM that are not on the AT&T stock ROM.
     
    rcllcr likes this.
  9. rcllcr

    rcllcr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    What is is it with phone manufacturers and network providers that put there own crap over android. Will a ROM be released that is just pure 100% Android?
     

Share This Page

Loading...