• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help installed wrong carrier firmware

oshaguar

Dec 29, 2010
Hi guys. So I tried manually updating the software for my phone using the firmware from huawei website. Unfortunately, by being a rookie, I did not notice that this firmware was for a different carrier (cricket) and I am on MetroPCS.

I did this by copying the dload folder onto my micro SD card and then doing a software update via SD card. It was successfully installed. However, since it is for the cricket carrier, now my phone won't connect to anything, and I can't do anything with it. It shows a constant message that states:
"Sorry!

The process com.android.phone has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again. " (force close)

I write this thread to:
1. warn future users to not do this software update unless you are on the cricket network.
2. Also would like to know if anyone out there is able to get the correct (Metro PCS) dload folder so that I can install that software back in my phone.
3. To know if there is anyone out there that can fix my problem

I also noticed that my phone reads "unknown" for my baseband version. This should have numbers on it.

If it's true that people out there that have their Huawei Ascend phones rooted, why can't they simply create a backup ROM to their SD card that can easily be shared with everyone else? Also there is an Application out there "AndExplorer" that will allow users (even if their phone is not rooted) access to all of the folders inside their phones. I actually tried, but could not find any recovery file. I found all the files and tried to zip them all and rename it so the phone could be tricked into installing everything, but nothing worked.

Upvote 0