installing a fresh ROM + apps2sd+ on new 32gb


Last Updated:

  1. Chan_B

    Chan_B Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok I finally got my 32gb from play.com through the post. Now after reading again froyo saves the app on the sd card but saves the extra user data etc I think on internal memory so what's the point in that? Now I'm just thinking of going all the way once and for all.

    At the moment I am running the standard 4gb card on my unbranded o2 with the devillian rom, but I found this rom freezes sometimes abit, like windows, you click on something it freezes then a couple seconds later comes back to life plus the flash player and browser seems to be worse than stock. So I'm moving away from this one. Open for recommendations, but I'm leaning towards the one lekky is using (defrost?) as I think that is known to be well.

    Instead of doing it myself and going awol searching on the interwebs, jumping on the ever stressful rooting/rom merry go round and crawling into a fetal position rocking back and forth when things don't go to plan ;) I thought I should post on here first and listen to your recommendations.

    So my requirements:
    -A fresh new 2.2 rom
    -Proper old school apps2sd+ on a brand new 32gb
    -Left with 100mb+ of internal memory
    -Stress free transition

    Thanks in advance. :cool:
     

    Advertisement
  2. kboya

    kboya Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    72
    partition your new sd card using ROMmanager (or the other way, as you choose) first

    I can recommend the following (both support a2sd+):

    [ROM-FroYo] Official Froyo HTC Sense ROM (16/07 v1.0c | OpenDesire Team)

    been using it for the last week, very smooth, no problems, no hangs, no bugs identified, very much like stock 2.1 Sense but 2.2 (i.e. no frills/extra progs), only downside I have found is no support for voice to text messaging.

    I am now running:

    [ROM][23/07] ۵.NeoPhyTe ROM 1.2 Sense-FroYo - ( FRF91 l Fast l 720p | 2.06 | AP2SD )

    been using it an afternoon(!), but very smooth, no probs so far, voice to text works, a few extra progs (e.g. ad free) but some others cut out (e.g. Plurk), includes launcher choice between Sense and Vnailla as standard

    Both were simple installs, with no problems, and work beautifully after setting up and a reboot
     
    Chan_B likes this.
  3. Chan_B

    Chan_B Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    So all I do is stick in the new sd card in my phone? (I haven't opened the packaging yet) And the phone should format it? Then using the ROMmanager app (which should be on phone memory) click partition SD card?
     
  4. steveky

    steveky Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Kboya
    Can you explain how you partition the sd card as described in the instructions
     
  5. Chan_B

    Chan_B Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    I inserted the new memory card and it picked up fine on the phone then I went to rom manager to partition the card, 512mb and 0 swap it reboots but only stays in clockwork mod, from here I dont know what to do.

    If I connect the phone to the computer with the card mounted it displays the card as raw not fat32 but music files drag and drop and easily play.

    I could format it from the computer to fat32 but I'll wait and see what you guys say.
     
  6. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Just reboot?
     
  7. Saint_Viper

    Saint_Viper Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    13
    Now you have partitioned your drive, just install one of the roms that have a2sd built into the rom, the install will do everything for you then.

    The computer says its a raw format, as ex2 and ex3 are linux formats, and as such not compatable with windows.
     
  8. Chan_B

    Chan_B Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    I thought rom manager would do that automatically? Why would it put me in clockwork? How could I check if its successfully partitioned?
     
  9. Chan_B

    Chan_B Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Would this pose a future problem?
     
  10. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    it goes to clockwork recovery to execute the partitioning. I'm not sure why it wouldn't reboot for you though.

    You can do the partitioning manually to be sure (the way i do it) by selecting to reboot into recovery from rom manager and follow the path to partition option.
     
  11. Chan_B

    Chan_B Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think I have done it, there was something wrong with the rom manager so I had to reinstall that, ran it through to do the partion again and it seemed to boot and partition as proposed. I'm sure it was a successful partition because before the storage would read as 29.7gb then after it read 29.2gb (ex 512mb).

    I've got the latest version of leedroid (1.5b I think) doesn't seem too good tbh.
     

Share This Page

Loading...