Installing Kernals with Rom Manager


Last Updated:

  1. tjreishus

    tjreishus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    94
    I wanted to explore some of the different kernals in rom manager. LV vs MV, etc. Can I just install them on top of what I have? Do I have to remove a previous kernal some how, or just try them all out?
     

    Advertisement
  2. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    just try them out. Just make sure that they are for the rom you are trying them on.
     
  3. nstallion

    nstallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    136
    As far as I can tell, you can just install them over the top of each other. They are, however, under the Cyanogen section so I'm not sure which ones are designed to work with other ROMs.
     
  4. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    kernels for cyanogenmod will not work with other roms. You will get nothing but bootloops
     
  5. tjreishus

    tjreishus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    94
    yea, I noticed that. I did try one of them on the so called "stock 2.1" in rom manager and it seemed to work just fine. I don't know if problems will show up later though. I save a copy before I applied it so no big deal. I think I'll just keep trying them all out to see what happens.
     
  6. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Many of the kernels are available as update files. Just put them in the root of your sd card, rename them to update.zip, and install using SP or clockwork recovery. They do not overwrite the rest of your setup. To avoid problem, return SetCPU to the default speed (600 0r 550) before installing. crank it back up when install completes.
     
    tjreishus likes this.
  7. tjreishus

    tjreishus Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    94
    I ran into a problem with boot loop, then took your advice to put setcpu back to stock before installing a kernal and it worked fine. Thanks for that!
     
  8. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    That is something I sometimes forget to do but yes it helps. I am going to start a thread on it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...