Instructions for Devolio's 1.5 install?


Last Updated:

  1. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone guide me on this? I've aleady downloaded the zip file. Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78
  3. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I am RC33 rooted with the JF 1.42 update. I've downloaded the JFADP1.5DEVoldSU.zip to my laptop. I don't see any procedures for updating. That's what I'm looking for. Thanks.
     
  4. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
  5. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK...as I looked more into it, unless I'm getting something wrong, this is a relatively involved process. Ugh
     
  6. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Can be at first .. but if you follow the steps and read very carefully you can get through it ... after the first time ... you only need to do steps 4 and sometimes step 5 on trying other BUILDS
     
  7. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hold up...I may have read this wrong, and please correct me if I am wrong. I am already rooted rc33 w/ JF 1.42. Do I only need to do steps 4 and 5?
     
  8. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Yes just do step 4.) with the build and you should be good .. I think the radio for step 5 should not change from one flavor of 1.5 to another 1.5
     
  9. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Getting close to pulling the trigger.

    Will I lose all my apps?
     
  10. dynodroid

    dynodroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, but you can download a program to back them all up to your SD card. Although I've noticed it no longer recognizes them under "My Downloads," and that confuses me because I'm not sure if I'll be notified about updates.

    I'd just redownload them anyway. Phones need a good wipe every now and then anyway. Just write down your favorite ones.
     
  11. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    You can use MyBackupUp Pro from the Market
    Or you can use Nandroid in the Recovery Boot Loader ...

    I have not yet learned (so cant explain how to do a restore with Nandroid)

    But MYBackup Pro Is easy ... you can save all apps and data and settings ...

    And restore then all after doing a new Build ..

    After the Build if you are also using Apps2SD you will have to re-download
    Backup first and then do your restore
     
  12. Mr Bloppy

    Mr Bloppy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    soz wrong thred but i am running the htc magic software on my g1. i want to update to the jf cupcake, just do step 4??
     
  13. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    yep and there are correct threads if you arent to lazy to look (search)
     
  14. Mr Bloppy

    Mr Bloppy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    theres no search on the mobile version. when your not logged on, and i forgot my password so its saved on my laptop
     
  15. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    ok sorry about that ...
     
  16. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Working on it right now.
     
  17. pacothebandit

    pacothebandit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    6
    How did it work out for you? I was over at a friends house and he is already rooted. All I did was put the file on his sd card, delete the old update file and do the home+power trick and shazaam alt w then alt s and away we go.

    Then same thing for the radio update.
     
  18. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Forgot to let you all know. Got it working. one million times easier than I thought it would be.

    Thanks so much! Best Android Forum!!!
     
  19. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just updated with the radio update. Is this supposed to help with battery life?
     
  20. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    LOL guess you didn't follow my link to the Guide on AF Step # 5 ....

    :rolleyes:
     
  21. abgarza

    abgarza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    I saw the step, but had no clue what the radio update was. I finally figured out what it does and updated. Thanks so much for all the help.;)
     
  22. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Kewl ... The radio file was listed in the beginning section of files that you would be needing to root ... and the radios are extremely vital to the build you working with ....

    They are not updated very often but it has at least once so far ....
     
  23. solider

    solider Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    has anyone had a problem with the Telnet step? I've been sitting here for close to an hour already and i can't seem to connect...=(

    EDIT: nvm, got it to work :)
     
  24. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    which guide are you using ... provide link to it so we look at it...
     

Share This Page

Loading...