Instructions for Z4root


Last Updated:

  1. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    So i downloaded Z4root, and ran the process. But now i do not know where to go from here. How do i get rid of native apps, and use this in general?
     

    Advertisement
  2. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
    z4root only gives you temporary root (using the permanent root option does nothing) and it loses it every time you reboot and you have to re-run the program. To get rid of apps you can either do it using Root Explorer or Titanium Backup, I would suggest backing up the files your going to delete first.

    I got rid of my crapware by using Titanium Backup Pro ($5.70). You have to install a newer version of busybox which Titanium Backup will prompt you to do. You can also update it by selecting problems when it opens. I had to do this a couple of times after each rooting with z4root as it puts an older copy of busybox on the phone.

    I first backed up all the programs I was going to delete. Then I put Titanium Backup in "Chuck Norris Mode" which is selected in the preferences menu. You then can use the Backup/Restore function to remove an app by long pressing on the item you want to uninstall permanently and select "Force remove app (by recovery exploit)". The phone will reboot twice, the first time with an exclaimation point which goes away on its own as it reboots the second time.

    You then have to run z4root again to uninstal the next app. So on and so forth till your done. Its teduious and I did this about 15 times removing apps this way but they are gone.
     
    Mr. Boom likes this.
  3. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    Thanks, that seems to work to remove bloat. What doesn't seem to work are the reboot apps that let you reboot without using the power button.
     
  4. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
    If I'm not mistaken a reboot app requires a permanent root to work and z4root doesn't do this on an Incredible.
     
  5. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
  6. dsb9938

    dsb9938 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    82
    It already has.
     
  7. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    Ha ha, i know! I have tried permanent root several times. To the point of running the battery down trying!
     
    Obed likes this.
  8. Obed

    Obed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    14
    boomshakalaka!
     
  9. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
    Thats why you can only do the "temporary root" method, which is the first selection. Its a mute point now as unrevoked 3.22 is out, lets hope it works.
     
  10. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    ..and is unrevoked 3.22 as easy as Z4root?
     
  11. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
    Its a pc program that roots your phone, not as easy as z4root, as you have to have the usb drivers set up properly.

    I also heard that people with SCLD screens are having problems with the new unrevoked 3.22. Actually an old issue of the black screen with white bars that requires a flash of a modded clockwork recovery.

    I actually accomplished what I wanted using z4root, removing all the crapware, and am happy with a program I can use to re-root at any time. The whole flashing custom ROM things has lost it luster with me after having an Eris for a year. I'm more than happy with a stock Incredible with all the crap removed and can use z4root at any time to use wireless tether when I need it.
     
  12. Sean1208

    Sean1208 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    5
    Maybe you just can't hear it when it speaks? I guess it's moot now though.
     
  13. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    Ok, so will the temporary root from Z4root, allow programs like setcpu to work?
     
  14. Mahalo

    Mahalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    216
    Sounds like a horrible idea.

    Setcpu (and other root mandatory applications) require root privileges to perform the tasks they are built to perform.

    I may be reading more into your question than you are asking, but if you can not afford them the privileges they they expect they SHOULD fail. You have accepted the disclaimer and if poorly coded I can also see likely severe problems.

    CPU speed is hardware/software dynamics and is not for the feint of heart.
     
  15. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162

    yup til u reboot ur phone. id just get s-off. you can always put it back to s-on.
     
  16. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    Well, i am only asking. Not doing. That's how we learn isn't it?
     
  17. varkie

    varkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    43
    z4root is only good if your going to keep a stock phone and just want to get rid of teh bloatware. Setcpu I believe needs a custom kernel inorder to work, it did on the Eris, and not sure how this will function once you lose root after a reboot if using z4root.

    If you want to use Setcpu then just root using unrevoked 3.22 jsuh has written up a good how to. The hardest part is getting android sdk setup on your computer and getting the proper usb drivers installed.

    http://jonsuh.com/2010/11/root-your-droid-incredible-how-to/
     

Share This Page

Loading...