• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Insurance/replace Connect for Esteem for $99

I'm in a bind timewise to make a decision but think I need to accept trade and pay the $99. Due to tragic death of 20 year old, I'm flying to Texas on Wednesday and have to have a working phone. The charging port is shot on mine and phone brain is affected as well (depowers/repowers sporadically or gets stuck in this loop on and OFF charger).

I appreciate any practical input as to whether or not this is a terribly bad idea or not? I am not tech savvy, I am frugal and I've seriously hated having this decent phone which has had horrible battery issues from the start. I'm also on fence about going with different carrier but don't have the time to research and make switch in such short amount of time.

So... my rationale is, I'll be out $100, HOPEFULLY have reliable phone while in Texas and then figure out the rest next month. Just asking for any affirmation or advice... thanks all :banghead:

1) You can switch carriers in about 15 minutes (plus driving time to the store).

2) The decision of which carrier you use should depend ONLY on which carrier has the best coverage in the areas in which you need coverage. You can find this out in a few hours, bu talking to people in those areas. "Oh, you get bad reception over here?" That sort of thing.

3) I wouldn't spend money replacing a phone I couldn't stand.

4) You CAN do everything but #2 once you get to Texas.

5) My sympathies for the situation in Texas.

(Side note - if your current phone uses a SIM card, talk to an independent cellphone dealer who carries that carrier's phones. You may be able to buy/borrow some old feature phone until you get back. I, as a dealer, did that more than once. Got burned a few times too, by phones that didn't get returned.)

Reactions: cjinca
Upvote 0
Really appreciate you taking the time to reply, and with such easy to understand info.