Interesting Info Screen that you probably don't know about.


Last Updated:

  1. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    In a current thread, a forum member asked if there was a way to disable data. Putting my search skills to the test, I found the method ... and a whole lot more. This is really cool stuff. :cool: (I thought it was worthy of it's own thread.)

    - Open dialer
    - Dial *#*#4636#*#*
    - Tap on 'Phone Information'
    - Press Menu button
    - Tap on More
    - Tap Disable data connection (Or, Disable data on boot.)

    Simply reverse the steps to re-enable your data connection ... either immediately, or after your next reboot.

    There's a whole lot more to checkout while you in there. Just be careful. You don't want to screw up anything.
     

    Advertisement
  2. DR0ID

    DR0ID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    hmm i wonder what would happen if i configure it for GSM/CDMA auto (PRL)
    maybe unlock some super hidden GSM verizon network and be able to talk and surf at the same time

    buttttt probably not haha
     
  3. Tim K

    Tim K Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    471
    You are missing a step and may want to edit your post. When the "Testing" screen appears, you have to choose "Phone Information" first, then click the menu button to see this option.

    Cool find though!

    Anyone want to test out some of these options?

     
  4. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    Lol. That would be quite interesting, although I'm pretty sure that the actual hardware in the Droid can't pick up the bands for GSM, so I doubt it would work anyways.
     
  5. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    I fixed my original post over in the other thread ... but forgot this one. :eek: Thanks for the reminder.
     
  6. Decus22

    Decus22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    13
    I get crappy signal at work. For some reason I wanna hit the run ping test button real bad. :confused::eek:
     
  7. (G)

    (G) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    47
    Interesting. I tried this and only got as far as Open dialer, Dial *#*#4636#*#*. At that point the dialer totally froze. Nothing changed on the screen, but none of the keys would work. I could hit the "BACK" button go get to my home screen, but when I went back into the phone, still nothing. Nothing would work.

    So I removed the battery, rebooted, and like a dolt, tried it again. Same result. (Isn't "insanity" defined as doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result?)

    Rebooted again and decided I shouldn't try it again.
     
  8. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Just tested it again today ... no problem here. :confused:
     
  9. GolfnDroid

    GolfnDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    5
    This thing keeps track of every second of usage and for what app/program in order of used most-least, can you say DATAMINING?

    I do like you can check battery temp and voltage without an app. Good find!
     
  10. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    I visit that info screen every day. Me and that info screen are bff. How dare you sir.
     
  11. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Ha! I knew something before Joe! Yay!!

    LOL.

    Found out about that when I had the Eris, and people had wonky signal indications.
     
  12. anjoga

    anjoga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    1
    Other than disabiling the data connection, what other benefit does this info screen offer?
     
  13. ChrisW

    ChrisW Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    When I looked at it [Menu: Usage statistics], it only listed the applications used since the last re-boot. The usage may be limited for data mining, unless the usage stats are real-time (which might be an unnecessary drain on the network)
     
  14. mocan55

    mocan55 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    what exactly does it do when you disable the data connection? Will verizon not know when you make/recieve calls and text etc??
     
  15. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    This feature disables any data coming to and going from your DROID ... that's all. I kinda don't know what you're asking. Yes, you can still make/receive calls. And yes, Verizon still knows about every second you use your phone for such.

    I guess I should add ... some employers require that your cell phone has all data turned OFF during work hours. Whether that is due to legal ramifications, or they are just being jerks. Whatever. Fortunately, my job doesn't care.
     

Share This Page

Loading...