Intermittent Wifi on Samsung Galaxy S CaptivateSupport


Last Updated:

  1. The0f

    The0f New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have recently picked up a Samsung Galaxy S Captivate (Android 2.1) on Rogers Wireless. I've been having an issue with the wifi on it, it only works intermittently when I'm at home. It will connect to my network without issues, but none of the data-enabled apps can access anything, they just time out. While this is happening my old iPhone (recent android convert) and my Nintendo Wii are able to connect flawlessly. This ONLY happens when I'm at home on my own network from what I've seen, when I'm on the wifi at my work everything works fine. Has anyone seen issues like this or have any suggestions as to what may be causing it? FYI I have tried different wifi channels, currently my router is setup to use TKIP on WPA2 for encryption.
     

    Advertisement
  2. antnaz

    antnaz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting the same thing. Rogers Wireless and only when on my home network. Usually restarting the phone temporary fixes the problem. They better have a fix for this in 2.2. Btw, this is the 2nd captivate that I got from rogers (replaced to due battery problems). The first one did the same thing, so I'm thinking it's the manipulations that rogers made to the OS that are causing this problem.
     
  3. kcau

    kcau Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes me too. I have had my Rogers Galaxy S for a week and noticed this. Instead of powering down try flipping the top edge 'notifications" window down, where u turn off or on wifi/bluetooth/gps/vibration.

    Click wifi off, then back on again ..... mine will then reconnect. Try it!

    KC
     
  4. wilburforce

    wilburforce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had my Captivate for less than 10 hours and already finding wifi issues. I'm able to connect to wifi with good signal strength, but no internet.

    One thing though - looking through the devices connected to my router, the Captivate is listed as connected with the IP address my router is using, and not 192.168.1.XXX like my other wired/wireless devices. Ideas??? I know this shouldn't be the case, but every time the Captivate connects, it becomes listed as 184.175.XX.XX. And I have no idea how to stop that from happening.

    Hmmmmm...
     
  5. vgopal

    vgopal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got my phone yesterday and I'm having the same problem. It worked fine yesterday when I set up the phone, but, today, I can't seem to work off the wifi, and it seems like a waste to be burning through a data plan when you're at home.

    Same situation as others here. Rogers phone, and the device shows strong connectivity to the wireless, but just times out when using it. Rebooting it seems to work, but, not the greatest of long term solutions to the problem.
     
  6. GalaxyTDM

    GalaxyTDM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    15
    I've had this a couple of times.
    There's no need to reboot the phone just turn wifi off and back on.
    Works for me anyway.
     
  7. grubby

    grubby New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same issue with my brand new galaxy S. I did one thing which was create a dummy wireless internet access point so it would not try to connect to rogers ( I only want to use it with wifi )

    I have been connecting to other wifi networks here and there, but at home it connects and then won't let me get on Internet... it does let me go to the manage page of my router though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...