Internal Memory Disappearing - How much do you have?


Last Updated:

  1. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    My internal memory has a parasite that is slowly eating it away. I have figured out that when internal memory gets below 16MB it turns on the little warning in the status bar. So, this is how I'm checking my internal memory so everyone that takes their time to respond to me is using the same method. I got to Settings> SD&Phone Storage, at the bottom of the screen that comes up is the "Internal Phone Storage" Available space and mine says 15.84MB. Today I installed a highly rated memory manager from the Market and it didn't help at all. So my first question is How much "internal Phone Storage" do you have left?

    Now my second question is when you got to Settings> Applications> Manage Applications> and scroll way down to "Mail - HTC Corporation" and click on that. Now look at the storage. Mine says 15.64 MB Total. Which breaks down there to Application 2.59MB and Data at 13.05MB. Clearly my Mail program is holding the biggest chunk of memory. But I want to know how this compares to everyone else's. If this is true then it would account for the parasitic growth or loss of my memory.

    So if I'm way different then this will start a good discussion on what to do about this problem. Just let me say at this point that I delete all email once I have read it. I delete the sent, draft and Trash folders too. I also go into the SD Card and delete everything that is in the .Mail folder too. So if my phone is storing old email now I have to find out where and delete it.........

    I so appreciate everyone weighing in on this perplexing problem.

    Thanks for your help and comments.........

    Lisa :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. norm12

    norm12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    when i was running fresh 2.3.3 it was around 23mb. I'm on CM6 and its over 110 right now, but I haven't setup my email account or loaded all my apps yet
     
  3. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    I don't know what the the problem is but since you are rooted, wipe and reflash Damage. Sorry for no help here:(
     
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Running froyo here too, have 30 apps installed and I have 107mb of internal memory. No A2SD either, have not moved any apps to sd
     
  5. Zardos

    Zardos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    15
    118 megs.

    CM6 - RC1

    If I don't use an app I don't keep it.
     
  6. bluemark

    bluemark Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    108MB. Not rooted.
     
  7. ffirewfire

    ffirewfire Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    your problem is related to storage. I would guess that the program you downloaded is designed to free up memory, which is a separate issue. To free up some storage, I would suggest clearing out your caches for internet browser, market and mail. If that does not free up enough storage then you should considered uninstalling some apps.
     
  8. nodrogkam

    nodrogkam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    11
    app: cachecleaner

    It'll help a lot, but there are other things stored - esp if you use sense and HTC related items. Those you'll have to manually clear in "manage applications"
     
  9. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    78
    Yea I'm hovering around 100 lbs and I have 20+ Alps loaded on from the market
     
  10. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    78
    mbs*
     
  11. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thank you for your response. I definitely have a problem that I can't fix! Maybe its time for a new phone and something other then a hero and something other than HTC.
     
  12. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Sure you can fix the problem, when you rooted, you put the power in your hands. Don't give up, flash a new rom! Wipe it clean and start with something new, there's plenty of different roms out there, AOSP, sense!!:) Most important, people are here to help if you need it:D
     
  13. chinkster

    chinkster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    11
    if you browse a lot of websites, the cache builds up. download cachecleaner or cachemate from the market and clean out the cache. i believe both requires root.
     
  14. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi Randy,

    Well I think I lost my root access some how in all this playing. Root explorer and Titanium stopped working. So now I can add that to my list of sudden problems. I think for now I'm going to Nandroid back a month where I had almost 50MB of memory and that will fix the memory problem. I won't update any of my programs and hopefully won't start the memory parasite going again. Then I guess I will have to figure out the root process again and see where that leaves me. The mail program was/is the memory sucker so I will keep an eye on that. But for now I'm defeated with this thing. Just need to band aid it together for now 'till I have the enormous amount of time it took me to root the first time. That was a nerve racking experience for sure. But thanks to a good person from these forums I got through it. But for now all I can do is Nandroid back and hold my breath..............'

    Thanks for your help and suggestions.......

    Lisa
     
  15. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am following through as I alway do to thank you all for your help and tell you how I resolved the problem. I received some great advice from everyone and the last tip, which is usually my luck was the best.

    The bottom line someone questioned why I thought I lost root. I explained what was going on and the best and final suggestion was to down load the latest Superuser.apk and flash through "recovery". Yes I had to ask exactly what that meant but I followed the directions and did it. Problem solved. I had SU working on my phone for Root Explorer and Titanium Backup. Then I downloaded Cachecleaner and it worked this time perfectly and it found 25MB of junk on my phone and cleared it out. So now I'm running 40MB of internal memory with all my programs working rather snappy now. In my estimation I screwed up the SU with the memory manager that was recommended somewhere along the line. When it didn't do anything for me I uninstalled it and I think my SU went with it. But the phone is fixed and I want to thank you all for your time in responding to my problem and requests. Sometimes multiple............

    Thanks again.....

    Lisa :D
     
  16. what_stanger?

    what_stanger? Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    56mb. -rooted with fresh 2.3.3 and a darch kernel, a few flashed mods and then apps installed
     

Share This Page

Loading...