Internal SD cardSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Toppers

    Toppers Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok when I look in settings>sd card and phone storage it says:

    Internal SD Card
    Total space 5.78 GB
    Available space 879MB

    How come I only have that much free I have looked and cannot see what has filled it all up?

    its doing my head in.....
     

    Advertisement
  2. XXSuntoucherxX

    XXSuntoucherxX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    13
    Could be a wide range of things, mount the SD card to a computer and browse through the contents of it. See if you have large pictures in the DCIM folder, if you have a lot of music on the phone, how large are those files? Do you save or backup apps to the SD card? If so how big are those? On the other hand, certain apps create their own folders, so if you find yourself regularly accessing news apps or surfing the internet enough the cache might be retaining a lot of stuff. Movies will also obviously take up a ton of space. Check that stuff out first, if you notice anything that pops out at you and you need a little more advice on how to clean it up, let me know. Also use some of the generous 16gb of internal storage for things that are a bit more permanent.
     
  3. Toppers

    Toppers Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok had a look saw nothing tried a factory reset still shows
    Internal SD Card
    Total space 5.78 GB
    Available space 789MB

    I only have an 8Gb internal not 16 BTW
     
  4. Toppers

    Toppers Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok still got the same problem interanl sd card is full and my exteranl is barely used even though I ask for the photos etc to go there

    also as keis is fubared ie I cannot find a working version I cannot explore my phome...

    please help!
     
  5. XXSuntoucherxX

    XXSuntoucherxX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    13

    Sorry I haven't checked in on this in a while.

    If you have tried to do a factory reset, and that didn't solve anything, it comes down to a few more serous things:

    - There's memory allocation errors. Best way to fix that is excercise your warranty and have them replace it.

    - There's a program or file that is literally eating up space where it shouldn't. Best way to fix that, download the app, Android System Information and check out the size of the apps on the system. As a matter of fact, download the program anyway to check out the health of your phone, you might even find something there.

    -If your phone is rooted, make sure there are no rogue programs eating up space. Also, if your phone is rooted, are you using anything like Titanium Backup and storing multiple backups on your phone?

    All that said, I no longer have the Vibrant. Up until about 2 weeks ago I dropped it. I'm also not going to speak ill of it. I will however encourage you to get the most out of it. If the issues of a $500.00 device are rendering it useless or not user friendly, you owe it to yourself to call T-mobile and have it fixed ON YOUR TERMS. If that means insisting a replacement, so be it. Hopefully another member of this forum will have another view on your issue now that it's been bumped.

    Good luck, and happy holidays.
     
  6. Toppers

    Toppers Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well that did not show me anything except that I have 2% free!

    I am on Orange so will make enquires....

    Could I not not unmount the sd memory or format it?
     
  7. Toppers

    Toppers Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok formated it and I have not lost anything so what ever was in there I do not know or seem to be missing but i have the storage space back......
     

Share This Page

Loading...