[International / GSM] having trouble installing the adt plugin


Last Updated:

  1. tsanborn79

    tsanborn79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    I open eclipse and go to Help/ install new software and I get an error message..........

    Cannot complete the install because one or more required items could not be found.
    Software being installed: Android Development Tools 16.0.1.v201112150204-238534 (com.android.ide.eclipse.adt.feature.group 16.0.1.v201112150204-238534)
    Missing requirement: Android Development Tools 16.0.1.v201112150204-238534 (com.android.ide.eclipse.adt.feature.group 16.0.1.v201112150204-238534) requires 'org.eclipse.wst.sse.core 0.0.0' but it could not be found


    what did I do Wrong. Im dying to umlock my nexus before I activate it and Im going crazy trying to install this.
     

    Advertisement
  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    20,613
    Likes Received:
    20,107
    tsanborn79,

    You don't need the ADT plug-in just for the adb.exe utility in the platform-tools.

    Look at this thread http://androidforums.com/faqs/443072-adb-guide-updated-12-05-2011-a.html for information about getting that (there are references to this thread in the how-to root guide (http://androidforums.com/galaxy-nexus-all-things-root/452146-how-root-samsung-galaxy-nexus.html)).

    Cheers and good luck!
     
  3. tsanborn79

    tsanborn79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I can just install the sdk?
     
  4. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10,472
    Likes Received:
    4,692
    Yes just the sdk is needed. Eclipse is a development environment
     
  5. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    20,613
    Likes Received:
    20,107
    Yes, if you are just going to root, you don't need the development pieces (i.e,. the ADT plug-in, Eclipse, etc.).

    If you are just going after the adb utility for rooting purposes, then you'll have to install the platform-tools portion of the SDK setup.

    However, if your goal is to root, you'll also need the fastboot utility, which is no longer part of the SDK.

    Check out the FAQ thread I posted below (referencing http://androidforums.com/faqs/443072-adb-guide-updated-12-05-2011-a.html) for different methods of installing the SDK to get adb.

    The "Mini-SDK" portion in the middle will also tell you how you get just get adb and fastboot utilities.

    Cheers!
     
    tsanborn79 likes this.
  6. hetvi

    hetvi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Expand the tree for http with dl-ssl.google.com/android/eclipse (note http, not https.)

    It should not be https dl-ssl.google.com/android/eclipse
    It should be http dl-ssl.google.com/android/eclipse
     
  7. droiddoug65

    droiddoug65 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    im a little new to the forums i usually find what i need by just looking around but now i have a question i have the exact same error message trying to install the ADT for eclipse i have the oracle JDK installed im running Ubuntu 11.10 with unity.. dont understand ive never had trouble doing this before... all help appreciated
     
  8. nbcc

    nbcc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0


    I' m having a similar issue. When I go into Eclipse & click on Help - Install New Software - then add adt-plugin & go to dl-ssl.google.com/android/eclipse it comes up with developer tools & when I go to install them it says Cannot complete the install because of a conflicting dependency Cannot satisfy dependency:
    From: Pulsar for Mobile Developers 1.3.1.20100916-1202 (epp.package.pulsar 1.3.1.20100916-1202) Thank You for any help you can give.
     
  9. nbcc

    nbcc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I should add that this worked fine on Friday Dec 16 but didn't work on Monday Dec 19
     
  10. Star123

    Star123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem yesterday...and I wasted the whole day..I tried to find the solution, but I couldn't

    At last today, I downloaded eclipse again and re-installed it....and now the error has gone...

    If you are starting new one..then before that delete the previous one...by removing Workspace folder from your C drive...and then start it...

    If you have downloaded recently or have latest version, then try to start it again..after removing the workspace folder and all connected folders....even then, if you don't find solution...Disable your Firewall and Antivirus...and try, you will find the solution....

    You can also see this video on youtube "How to install Eclipse / android adt plugin ubuntu/kubuntu 11.10"...Or visit this link for this video "ww.youtube.com/watch?v=HCNC34BflOo"...that might help you.
     
  11. plaukit

    plaukit New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    If running Windows you need to run eclipse as admin, this solved it for me.
     
    Aikunle and aom336 like this.
  12. toddbailey

    toddbailey New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hate to say me too, but I can't get the adt package to install into eclipse

    message reads :

    Cannot complete the install because one or more required items could not be found.
    Software being installed: Android Development Tools 16.0.1.v201112150204-238534 (com.android.ide.eclipse.adt.feature.group 16.0.1.v201112150204-238534)
    Missing requirement: Android Development Tools 16.0.1.v201112150204-238534 (com.android.ide.eclipse.adt.feature.group 16.0.1.v201112150204-238534) requires 'org.eclipse.wst.sse.core 0.0.0' but it could not be found


    I'm using dl-ssl.google.com/android/eclipse on a fedora f16 x86 box
    firewall has been disabled but either way same error message.

    I've also tried downloading and installing as an archive, same results
    This issue is spread across several machines so it's not machine specific.

    I've even tried F16 running in a Vm on vbox. And the obvious uninstall everything, reinstall everything




    any one got a workaround or other ideas?
     
  13. cristianpark

    cristianpark New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you read Star123 post?? In the video is te solution for your problem, you just have to install linux tools from update site for your eclipse version and you're set.

    I hope this can help but all the kudos por Star123 who posted the video
     
  14. toddbailey

    toddbailey New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are referring to star123's post about reinstalling eclipse and turning off the firewall.


    been there done that, didn't fix problem.
     
  15. mazwoz

    mazwoz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    if you are using ubuntu and have installed eclipse try running

    sudo eclipse

    it will ask for your password

    now add the repository and walla, you are good to go.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  16. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    20,613
    Likes Received:
    20,107
    mazwoz, thank you for that excellent tip and welcome to the AndroidForums :).

    Cheers!
     
  17. unforgiven6666

    unforgiven6666 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Run Eclipse "as Administrator" Solved trouble in my case (Windows VISTA)
     
  18. Aikunle

    Aikunle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can confirm that this simple procedure as mentioned by Plaukit solves the problem - run Eclipse as Administrator (I am using Window 7 home Edition 64bit) and Eclipse Classic
     
  19. 24bridge

    24bridge New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    It works for me. I'm using Win 7. Thanks a lot!
     
  20. alexbk66

    alexbk66 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Running Eclipse as Administrator (and also removing c:\workspace) worked for me. THANKYOU!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...