[International] No-frills cpu control settings?


Last Updated:

  1. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,243
    Whats everyones opinion of fastest (lets use quadrant as a standard and best battery saving settings?
    Min(is there any point changing min above 200?)
    Max
    Governer and
    I/o ?

    Quadrant just seems to throw up random results for me. I always reboot and clear ram to keep it scientific but results vary wildly.
    4.1.2 quad core btw.
    I know battery stats are a much longer process lol n im lazy.

    Please just no-frills and no undervolting coz im not that advanced, cheers :beer:
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    I no longer overclock as I don't need to. I simply use 200-1400 Mhz. Pegasusq is the ONLY governor you should use. I use all the default kernel sample rates and thresholds.

    Unfortunately the only way of saving battery without sacrificing performance IS to undervolt.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  3. silentwitness

    silentwitness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    318
    i have setcpu installed. I normally seth the governor to ondemand. I dont really know what the second thing is there it has many options like cfq/vr/noop/deadline/sio. Im currently running Siyah Kernel.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  4. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,243
    Yeah im usin siyah too.
    Just got this on quadrant at 1.6, pegasq, cfu
    (See below)
    1st time ive beat 6000
    Thats with checkin a couple things in dev options.
    I find 1ghz runs ok but duno if its saving me much batt.
    One day il have the patience to play with undervolting lol but batt life isnt really a problem for me right now.

    Heres a question ive asked before but unsure what forum... does "power saving" lower the clock by a certain amount or set it at a factory defined speed?
     
  5. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,243
  6. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5,313
    Likes Received:
    3,105
    Out of curiosity can you put the row scheduler on instead of cfq and see what results you get. It appeared in the last siyah update but I only noticed it a couple of days ago so I can't really compare until I go back to work in the new year and get my usual days worth from the phone. I've googled it but there's not too much info other than its designed for flash drives instead of hard drives like the others.
     
  7. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5,313
    Likes Received:
    3,105
    This link should be useful. But as SU said, only use pegasusq, it's the only one which was designed for quad core. Although lulzactive does work if you want a little extra performance.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1369817
     
    funkylogik and silentwitness like this.
  8. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,243
    Sorry i dont have that so im obv not on latest kernal bro :(

    Hows this for an example of how the s3 likes workin with low ram
    uploadfromtaptalk1356905014428.jpg

    1.6ghz: uploadfromtaptalk1356905079416.jpg

    1.4(stock) uploadfromtaptalk1356905120173.jpg

    (Pega..... and cfq [which i think ill stick with])

    And heres 1ghz which im runnin now with less than 100mb ram n not much scrolling lag....
     
  9. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,243
    ....... uploadfromtaptalk1356905753693.jpg
     
  10. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,243
    So peggysue or whatever sorry is the only only governor recommended for multicores?
    Il try the lucozade (again sorry) while my rams full n c what i get at 1.6.

    Undervolting is my next project...... and making a baby..... :)
     
  11. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,243
    Lucozade was slower with cfq..
     
  12. silentwitness

    silentwitness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    318
    can i ask what software u are using to check/benchmark the cpu?
     
  13. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,243
    Quadrant mate. I know its not great but ive always used it n so does most people so its a good standard for me to go by, know what i mean?
     
    silentwitness likes this.
  14. silentwitness

    silentwitness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    318
    i was just curious to know which software it was so i could run it and see what my phone shows.
     
  15. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,243
    What did u get mate. Bet u get higher if you dont clear your rom?
     
  16. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    It's all pointless but I can get get over 7k if required... but it doesn't really mean anything anyway
     
  17. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,243
    I know it doesnt but its kinda addictive. So whats your settings?
    Ur on the international arent u?
     
  18. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,243
    Yorkshire *facepalm*
     
  19. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,243
    Does the rom affect quadrant scores or just the kernel??
     
  20. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Bit of both but I faked it. I simply mounted tmpfs to /data to increase the scores to highlight the random crapness of quadrant ;)
     
  21. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,243
    I bought geekbench2 on a stupid drunken whim. Do u respect/use any benchmarks?
    Think il keep my cpu stock.
    It feels slick at 1.6, pega**** and CFQ most of the times but i get the odd keyboard freeze n that bothers me.
    1.4 is fine. Whats different about the Note2 that it can run flawlessly at 1.6 stock?
     
  22. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Not really to be honest. Its all very well seeing what numbers you get but it doesn't reflect real life. You may get 1000 less than me, but your device may be more fluid and feel faster in the hand and thats what counts. Sometimes optimising the UI comes at the "price" of lower benchmarks yet it is more responsive... so I try not to get bogged down with benchmarks

    Thats odd. But yeah I also keep mine at 1400 now. I use to go up to 1704 but theres no real need for me to do so


    Dunno. Voltage?
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  23. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,243
    Have u messed with voltage yet mate?
     
  24. silentwitness

    silentwitness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    318
    i ran it once and got abt 6010.
     
  25. silentwitness

    silentwitness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    318
    planning to put neatrom now and see.
     

Share This Page

Loading...