[International] Total newbie GSIII rooting confusion!!!

Last Updated:

1. 58beetle

58beetle New Member

Hi everyone im very new to the whole android OS and am really confusing myself with rooting. I'm one of the many who have converted from a jailbroken iPhone and much prefer the Galaxy S3. I'v searched and searched various forum etc but i dont wanna ruin my new phone, so onto my question......

I need to run ARLiberator to work with my cars appradio2 but this requires rooting i have a samsung GT-I9300 android version 4.1.2 with baseband I9300XXELLA i dont think i want to load a new rom as i dont want to lose all my data if im right in saying that.

Could someone please point me in the right direction of what i need to do as i dont really understand the differances in basebands etc

any help appreciated

many thank Paul

Advertisement
  2. 58beetle

58beetle New Member

Also forgot my phone is on Orange UK Network and boots with a samsung logo as iv read this can also make a differance?

Thanks
  3. silentwitness

silentwitness Well-Known Member

funkylogik and 58beetle like this.
  4. 58beetle

58beetle New Member

hi silentwitness i think i do from what i have been reading just a bit more complicated to me with all the different versions of the s3 available compared to my old iPhone, thanks for the link ill have a good read.
  5. silentwitness

actually speaking there are a couple of versions international and the us version which has many sub versions.
  6. dan55

dan55 Well-Known Member

hi Paul,

i know how you feel :D i was like that when i got my s3 at first - and after many months of lfashing roms on my desire, i was planning on not messing with the s3 .... but then it just happened! :D