internet advice please


Last Updated:

  1. t_cole10

    t_cole10 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry if i sound abit daft here,but if i go into widgets,then settings,is the mobile network widget a turn on turn off internet.Dont want to mess with phone & mess it up without knowing first.

    Stacie
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Yes it is.
     
  3. scokem

    scokem Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    It is indeed a widget that controls your phone's mobile internet network connection and it is a turn on/turn off widget so you can't "mess it up". If you don't want to use the widget to turn this on or off you can press and hold the power button until you get the menu pop-up and then you'll see the bottom entry is what you're after.
     
  4. t_cole10

    t_cole10 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for advice,needed to be careful as with vodafone 500mb.

    Stacie
     
  5. scokem

    scokem Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    You may want to consider an app called 3g watchdog - I don't use it personally but I've heard it get good reviews. It monitors your web usage so you don't need to worry how much you've used or have left etc.
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Theres an app on the market called network monitor that can monitor your usage. Ive not tried it but it gets pretty good reviews.
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304

    Ha
     
  8. marko1892

    marko1892 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    Sorry to jump in your thread, but as has been said, get 3G watchdog. I too have a 500mb internet connection and have this app, this is what I do:

    On my homescreen (main one) I have the mobile widget you were talking about, I have this off when I'm in the house (as I just connect to my wifi)

    in the icon bar at the top 3G watchdog will always be there and will always monitor your activity so you know you wont go over your limit.
     
  9. t_cole10

    t_cole10 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks everyone,very helpful.Have now added watchdog so wont worry so much.

    Stacie
     
  10. HYCAET

    HYCAET Guest

    Is there any point turning data off when connected to WiFi?
     
  11. tanbe174

    tanbe174 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    11

    actually not or maybe it saves battery. If you have data on and have wifi on, Wifi will automatically take over the internet/data for your phone.
     
  12. Fish-Bone

    Fish-Bone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    38
    Not really. As far as i remember, if your phone is connected to WiFi, by default it uses ONLY the wifi to transmit data on and off the internet. I think there is a way to change it, but at the moment i cant find it :)
     
  13. tef89

    tef89 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    24
    +1 for 3g watchdog - great little free app.
     
  14. zoomanup

    zoomanup New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am also worried about how to manage my network connections . I have data connection given by my employer ( limited use) and have a wifi at home . I want to access all applications with WiFi (when available ) otherwise wants only data connection to acess my official mail box .If there is any application or tool which prompt which connection to use before we open an application . I have noticed this option in Nokia E72 .

    please comment
     
  15. bigt

    bigt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    42

    I don't personally as a data/mobile internet connection is needed to send or receive MMS messages.
     

Share This Page

Loading...