Internet closureGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. BWallHair

    BWallHair New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    On my droid eris, I keep having a problem with my internet browser randomly closing. I have the haptic feedback on the soft keys, so I know I'm not hitting the home button.could out be a virus? Any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement
  2. horseluvr

    horseluvr Guest

    My phone does that too but I don't know why. Sorry I can't help other than to let you know that you are not the only one. I am on replacement phone number 3 due to problems with the upgrade. Internet randomly closing was an issue on those too. I'm going to call Verizon to at least have it on record in case it gets worse.
    Good Luck!
     
  3. clemsondave

    clemsondave Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine does it, but it's not random. If I open the browser, it will pop up then close. I'll open it again and it stays open. Started with the OTA.
     
  4. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Its been a known problem for awhile now, ever since the leaks. It used to randomly crash in V2 of 2.1, but it seems to be fixed in V3 OTA. Now it only crashes on the initial load, but works perfectly after that. The only time it really crashes is when I open a massive web page.
     
  5. Cajun83

    Cajun83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    28
    xScope Lite will fix that... :)
     
  6. mimmic

    mimmic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had this issue on Leakv3 but I redownloaded the v3 image and reflashed my phone. Everything seems great since I redid it. However, I did notice it crash 1 time while viewing a web page but it might have been something else all together.

    I used leak3 since the day it was released and about 2 weeks ago reflashed it. When I did the reflash I did the md5 hash check on the image file to verify I had the correct information.... I'm thinking my original download was not complete however still loaded.
     
  7. cmajpwc

    cmajpwc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sometimes when I go to open the browser it just closes on me. I have yet to have it close on me while I am actually browsing though, so it's no big deal.
     
  8. Praetorian

    Praetorian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    23
    Occasionally when I open the stock browser it closes right away but when I open it right after its fine. Clearing the cache on the browser fixes the problem for awhile.
     
  9. rycheme

    rycheme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    I stopped using the stock browser some time back in favor for Dolphin HD. Perhaps using a non-stock browser will solve the issue for you?
     
    BWallHair likes this.
  10. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    6
    I had this happen frequently after the OTA. I reset the the browser to stock settings, and it has been fine. (Knock on wood!)
     
  11. homer169

    homer169 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    Have you tried a factory reset? I've read that it helps with alot of the little problems after the OTA.
     
  12. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    I've been using the stock browser rather heavily on multiple ROMs for about 6 weeks now, and I would say that it is just plain buggy - there's very little you can do about it. I've crashed it within minutes of using it for the first time on a new ROM, so it's unlikely that a FR or cache clearing will change things.

    I don't know if there is something I could change about my behavior so that I would see the problem less often, but I frequently do things like re-size pages or click on links in pages as they are still being loaded, or even change from landscape to portrait and back and forth while doing text entry. (The phone keypad in portrait has far more bugs than the landscape text entry mode, but they both have problems.)

    I've also had it crash many times when submitting posts - generally after the post has "taken" on the forum site (phew!), but the thread page refresh is just starting to occur.

    I wish it was less buggy. OTOH, it's 100,000x better than what my old dumb phone could do.

    eu1
     
  13. nekoki

    nekoki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    3
    Same for me.
     
  14. Nabraham

    Nabraham Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    27
    Happens to me as well, it will close and open right back up and for some reason loads up a page i viewed from a few days back. Pretty weird.
     

Share This Page

Loading...